Book Review of Once Upon a Prince by Rachel Hauck

A prince and a common girl. Obviously this is a star-crossed lovers, fairytale of a story since Nathanial is a prince and Susanna is quite common. But hey, if William can marry Kate, then all shall be right with the world. But not before a pesky entail threatens to disrupt a country, and we all know what those entails are like…. any Downton Abbey fans nodding their heads in agreement? There’s a law or two about marrying a non royal, a 12 year relationship broken, a very vicious upstart of a woman who thinks she should get the prince, a royal coronation….. Just about every thing that relates to a fairytale is crammed into this story, but it makes for a very fun read.

Once Upon a Prince is book one of The Royal Wedding Series by Rachel Hauck, author of The Wedding Dress.  I reviewed The Wedding Dress last year, unimpressed, but Once Upon a Prince was a fun bit of fluff to read. I love the cultural references Rachel applied to the tale; William and Kate!  And things like iphones, Blake Shelton, Facebook, and other things pop culture. It made the story real. At times I wanted to shake some sense into Susanna.  There were also moments I thought Nathan needed a bit of help, but all in all it was a fun read.  For a couple chapters I thought Rachel was going to make the story super predictable, but she managed to surprise even me.  Other than a couple of odd pastor/priest/minister references and fictional kingdom that I felt needed work…… Brighton, really?, the story was enjoyable.  I’m curious as to what the second book of The Royal Wedding Series is going to be about.  Maybe Susanna’s sister or possibly Nathanial’s brother.  If you are looking for a fun, contemporary fairytale, this is a good one to try.

If I had to rate it, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars.  Good job, Rachel Hauck.  I look forward to the next in the series.

This book was provided free of charge for my honest review from Booksneeze.com, Zondervan publishing, and Thomas Nelson Publishing.

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

