Favorite Songs Part 1 – Day 8

Bruce Springsteen, Drammenshallen, Norway

Bruce Springsteen, Drammenshallen, Norway (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I’m On Fire” by Bruce Springsteen has to be one of my all time favorite songs. I cannot explain  how much I like it, but when I hear it, there is like this little piece of me that calms down and suddenly I’m okay.

Recently, Mumford and Sons did a cover of it, a live version, that is beautifully done. Raw, gritty, Mumford-y.  Then I heard the cover by Olaf Arnalds on an episode of Lethal Weapon. Now I’m not one to begrudge a cover, nor am I one to say the original was best, but in this case, no one has it quite like The Boss.

No, I think I will stick with something that truly shouldn’t ever be played around with and changed. Now to only find more Bruce Springsteen songs that are like ‘I’m On Fire’.  Does anyone know? I’ve yet to find one quite like that song of his.

Kate

