Happily Homemade – A Review

We all know that the best meals are the ones that are prepared with love. In Happily Homemade by Rachel Schultz  gives us 100 unique recipes to help you get past the dreaded feeling of what to make for dinner.  With stunning pictures that make you need to make everything, this book separates the recipes into catagories: Breakfasts with recipes such as Pumpkin and Pecan Baked Oatmeal, Blueberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast, and Herbed Mini Quiches (oh yummmm!); Snacks and Appetizers ( Carrot Bread, Apple Cookies, Loaded Skillet Fries, Almond and Pear Baked Brie, to name a few); Entrees (BLT Pizza, Chicken Lo Mein, Barley Vegetable Bowl, Fajita Grilled Cheese, and Ham and Swiss Hand Pies….. and much much more); and finally Desserts! ( Cherry Cake Bars, Blood Orange Upside-Down Cake, Coconut Macaroons, Nanny’s Rice Pudding, six kinds of frosting for various cakes…… drool some more).  There are spice mix recipes, a gluten free index for the book, and lots of tips and gorgeous recipes. The recipes are normal, extravagant, and just drool worthy in description or pictures.

I love this book, though I should mention that most of it I wouldn’t make for my immediate family due to not being quite as adventureous as I am. However, if I lived on my own, this would probably be something I would want to try out almost everything, though I did find some of the recipes like the rice pudding and the baked oatmeal, made more than I would eat on my own. Plus they are a tad too much to try out a recipe in small amounts. But most everything is a common flavor from good home cooking to Mexican, Asian and more. The variations alone make it fun. If anything, this book is one that is just lovely to look at. I myself actually read cookbooks for pleasure, not just for cooking. Who said you have to cook just because there are recipes? I read Barefoot Contessa (Ina Garten) cookbooks all the time and have only made about three recipes from her various books.

This book is functional for some and not for others. If you like stunning pictures and recipes that will make you want to hop into your car and get to the nearest market, then this is the book. I would give it 4 out of 5 stars, actually 4.5 because it’s such a nice hardback book. Well done.

Kate

