October 21st – Write 31 Days – Cyclamen White

cyclamen-fallIt is 7 months from spring, and only five months till spring, yet the cyclamen is blooming. Sometimes, after being dormant all summer, I think it gets so excited to have cooler, wet weather, that it decides to bloom again. These pale beauties came up a month after the Autumn Crocus. They are more white than pink, though there is the faintest touch of blush. They are lovely and clean.

Flower in the crannied wall,
I pluck you out of the crannies,
I hold you hear, root and all, in my hand,
Little flower-but if I could understand
What you are, root and all, and all in all,
I should know what God and man is.

Flower in the Crannied Wall by Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

