PAD Day 19 – Cool/Uncool – Elvis Costello is His Icon

Elvis Costello is His Icon

He’s a bit uncool with his hair
falling over his black glasses
thick glasses floppy hair
shaggy and mussed and wavy.
He’s a bit of a nerd but
in a way he’s not.
He quotes things no guy
should ever know and read
but long ago it was the thing
Elvis Costello in jacket and jeans
with cummings in his back pocket.

I have a character I’ve styled after a nerdish Elvis Costello, kind of like he’s crossed with Zachary Levi from Chuck. And I picture him reading e.e. cummings or Dylan Thomas or something edgy. But he’s cool in an uncool way. And young Elvis Costello is really pretty much what I have pictured. And I might add that an older Costello is kind of sexy too….

April Cool

April means warmer weather
as the snow decides to settle
onto mountain tops one day
as I’m in shorts two days later
Up and down, the cold is here
then gone and summer sun shines
It’s a mixed up world in April
A bit of an uncool vibe.

The darn weather can’t make up its mind. Two weeks ago I was in shorts considering suntanning, then the next week I was in layers, bundled up because it was raining and snowing. Now we are back to more summery weather. It’s an odd year.

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

