PAD Day 18 – Office – My Dentist’s Hotel Lobby

Hotel de Latour, Maubourg Paris. While nothing like the dental lobby, there is an air about it that is similar.

My Dentist’s Hotel Lobby

My dentist’s waiting room is like a hotel lobby
Filled with a classy brown sofa
So soft you could order a cup of coffee
and sit for an hour or two.
Soft music plays, mixing styles
while the receptionist, Rosemarie
answers the phone so classically.
She’s cute and perky and oh so sweet.
Then there’s the elegant artwork and the glass-pained
door of dark oak… a half French door.
It’s inviting like you could stay a while.
I wrote pages of verse while waiting.
I wrote sing-song poems.
I’d go back in a flash and just sit.
But I don’t mind seeing the dentist either.

I was really impressed with how cozy my new dentist’s office was. I really was relaxed as I sat writing for an hour, since I was early. I was able to enjoy the music, all styles, but softly played. And the table and sofa were like a hotel. I was kind of ready to order a cup of tea.

Then there is my doctor’s waiting room. It changed recently as it is in a clinic setting. I’m not happy. I miss the old one that was so wonderful.  I spend more time in doctor’s offices than any other office. But I loved my family’s company office. It was always bustling and busy. I remember going there and seeing family and friends and lots of people I knew. I loved that office two.  Miss it as well.

My Doctor’s Office Has Changed

I miss my old waiting room for my doctor
when it was open and bright and cheery
where the music was so perfect I wanted to stay
and read for a while and relax listening
to the receptionists type and check things in
and the door opened and I always glanced up

But now the waiting room is dark and dingy and full
of people I don’t like, that I have to sit too close to
and I feel claustrophobic and antsy
and I want to escape as my blood pressure rises
and it’s a miracle I leave sane.

At least the other waiting room is open for a different
doctor that I see once a year, thank God
because I will relish those few moments of waiting
where before I might have panicked
but now I find solace in the soft greys and oranges
Gosh I miss that place.

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

