PAD Day 6 – Ekphrastic – Summer Siren Lady

Summer Siren Lady

Seductive and slumberous lady you are magnificent
in your slip of sheer silk
Chestnut curls adorned with poppies so red
Oriental with their black fuzz centers
an eye on the world as you lazily regard me in your
contentment, a ripple of silver as your toes
flash in the waters of life
a moment of clarity shattered in the hazy sun
an afternoon sky of purest blue satin and white lace
You are the epitome of luxury and sin
a promise of what could be, hidden behind eyes so knowing
so full of mystery
Pluck my heart from the floor as your red lips
grace me with a kiss of longing
you temptress you
Oh Venus herself could not compare to your voluptuous self
as you tempt me with your body and eyes, promising more
the world? A night? Maybe more like hell in a moment
But I would dive into waters so deep to test your skin like
porcelain warmed by the sun, fragile and so pure
Lead me not into temptation with your smile so vague
Let me be and let me walk from this agony you thrust upon me
A moment of insanity lingers in your powerful touch

Okay, so today’s prompt was an ekphrastic poem, which is basically writing a piece from art. I wasn’t too thrilled with the images Rober picked, but I was inspired by the artist of one of them, Alphonse Mucha. I love Alphonse Mucha’s work, which has a very seductive them to the sensuous grace of women. A form of a goddess, untouchable and seductive in a way that even as a woman, I find so amazing. I love his seasons series, this being one of them. Summer. I wrote this as if I were a man watching (as much as one can write that way when one isn’t a man) with an inspiration of past poets, like Shelley, Scott, or Keats…

Enjoy

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

