PAD Day 4 – Distance… Somewhat At A Distance

Susan Wooldridge talks about loaded words in Poemcrazy, and personally, the past two days have had loaded words for me when it comes to writing and PAD (Poem a Day). Yesterday was ‘three’ and three can mean so many things. I started playing around with three broken hearts, imagining two men in love with one woman. I think that come from reading Outlander and really falling in love with it.  But there is this forbidden fascination with being loved by two men. Maybe it’s the lack of a love life, or just the fact that I love guys…. But anyways…. Three can mean so much. Maybe not to others, but to me it does.

Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple

Then today’s prompt was ‘Distance’.  I started singing Rod Stewart’s ‘So Far Away’ and thinking about the title to a Persephone Books title, “Someone at a Distance” by Dorothy Whipple.  Then Robert Brewer (head dude of the PAD) suggested distance and running.  Well, all three of those things kind of fit together and here is what I came up with.

 

Enjoy.

Somewhat at a Distance

Somewhat at a distance there
A pinprick of light and hope
But that dot still feels so far
Away
Thirty-four years I feel I’ve waited
Pounding the pavement thin
Impatient and exhausted for the end
To come
But isn’t the journey the adventure?
At least so they say to sound brave
To me the fulfillment means
Adventure
To spend your life with another
Now that is the real quest
Companionship is the adventure
The gain
But I wait here along for him
As he waits alone for me
Spread apart by space
Alone
Someday I hope we smack full force
And our life not the end but beginning
To start that great adventure
Together

 

NB. The last two stanzas just came to me! Whew!  I love it when a plan comes together….. ~George Pepard

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

