Moms – Day No. 29

keep-calm-and-call-mom-76Today is Mrs. B’s 60th birthday. How is it possible my mother has gotten so old? I can still remember when she was my age… Oh God, I’m old!  Back when she was still getting carded. Back when she was teaching me and my sister, working as a nurse, and managing our gorgeous house. How did she do it all? Let’s just say I did not inherit any of that from her. My mother was like Sarah Jessica Parker in “I Don’t Know How She Does It“, which we just watched last night and is an incredibly good film. Watch it. You won’t be sorry.

Moms: they are so important, with the caveat that they are good moms. If you ahve a bad mom, then I’m truly sorry. My mom is great, and that’s not me just saying that because I’m supposed to. Sure, because we are nothing alike we have our moments  where we do not agree. At all. But even when  we have those moments, which seems to be more frequently, we still get along. I think. I trust Mom’s advice and she is who I do talk to when I need to vent. She can read me too well, and tends to do that regularly, sometimes to my annoyance, and other times where it’s really helpful.  As number 6 of the 13 Things No One Tells You About Being A Woman says:

6. The most complicated relationship you’ll have is with your mother. In your teens, you hate her, in your early 20’s you miss her, after that you rely on her advice as if it is Bible. Most women don’t want to become their mother, but they still love and respect her — and end up becoming much like her anyway.

It’s very true. Granted, I have not had the missing her part since I still live at home, but when she goes places for longer than I think she should, I worry about her. We have a unique relationship.

Mrs. B’s girlfriend is a great Mom. I watch how she loves her kids and I kind of get a gooey feeling like a hot brownie in my chest when I think about it. And if I needed a surrogate mom, I bet I could rely on her.  I actually know quite a few cool moms out there.

For years, I wanted to be a mom. I wanted to be married at 22, have four kids, home school them all, name one girl after my great-great-great grandmother; Phoebe. I had names picked out for my kids….. Sophie, Paul, Phillip, Rose, Charles….. Those are just some of the names. I had grand ideas about being a mom. While at the same time scared out of my wits that I could even be a mom.

But none of that has happened. And now part of me doesn’t want to be a mom. Oh sure, I want to have my own baby, but honestly, kids scare me. They scare the heck out of me. I don’t know what to do with them. I have never baby sat in my entire life except for once and that time scared the heck out of me and I was just next door watching the 8 year old boy for an hour… No big deal.  I view kids as ankle biters… You use a fly swatter to move them along…. Okay, maybe not that bad.

This is kind of ironic because I like writing children’s books. I like making things for kids. I like all that fun stuff. But I don’t know how to even talk with kids. Sigh. So I don’t think I would be a very good mom. But again< I’m not sure I want to be a mom> i like to think I could be a very cool aunt. Or if I married a man who was older and already had young grand kids… I could be a really cool young, hip grandma.

So, do you love your Mom?  Is Mom the most important person in your life? Do you agree with No. 6 above?

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

