The Pleasure of Your Company – Blogging U – Poetry 201

English: Shakespeare's sonnet 1

English: Shakespeare’s sonnet 1 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I actually have been looking forward to writing this sonnet, which is why with the Poetry 201 course, I am doing it before the concrete poem, and the ballad.  I was inspired by someone who I met this year. The way I responded to him has changed my outlook on who I need and want in a partner.  This person made me feel so much of who I am, I didn’t even question it. I could be exactly who I was without any artifice or a hidden doors. I was who I was, and it was the most comfortable place in the world.

So the assignment was : Day 10: Pleasure, Sonnet, Apostrophe

I went with the Shakespearean  Sonnet in the abab cdcd efef gg writing scheme. As for pleasure, easy to see, and as I was writing this to someone, well, the apostrophe fits. I hope. 😛  I do hope you enjoy.

 

The Pleasure of Your Company

I’ve had the pleasure of your sweet time
On this the day you came from far away
When the summer sun had yet to be mine
And the warmth of you next to me that day

I was lost but you found me once again
Becoming more to what I was before
Now I know truth of so much more remain
And a change is what I know desire for

My hopes are open and so much clearer
All things have taken on a grander light
The pages I write are my true mirror
You brought be back from the darkest of night

I can be me in all that I now see
This is the pleasure you have brought to me.

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

