Staying Positive As You Pound It Out – Day No. 19

A Writing Kind of Day

A Writing Kind of Day (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, here we are at day 19 in the Write 31 Days Challenge.  And boy is it a challenge to keep writing every day. In fact, it’s so much of a challenge now, that I’m mixing up posts that I had a specific schedule for because I can’t bear to write something specific on a certain day. I am tired, and losing focus. I don’t want to write anymore. I want to take a nap. (this being said as I woke up this morning) I’m having a harder time staying positive.

This is one of those hazards of being a writer. Staying positive as you write day after day. Honestly, I have never been one to work on my ‘novels’ on a daily basis. I will go through spurts where I write for maybe a week, then put it away, the pull out another and you get the idea.  I do not write day after day on a different topic and try to stay focused. I do not know how writers actually do it. How do they do this as a job? And make their mind work.

12107876_10153589361601291_5046273428782243254_nMaybe because my day job is household management and farming, I can’t understand sitting and writing for three hours each day. And yet at the same time, maybe the reason I’m losing focus is because while having to write every day, I still have to do household management and farming.  It’s not like I’m an actual writer in the sense that it’s my job. So I actually am trying to do three things all at once and not get burned out. Maybe if I could cut farming out completely and cut down on the house, I could write every day.  Granted, staying focused is still an issue for me. Me focused?  Has anyone seen Disney/Pixars ‘Up’?  You know the dog?  “Hi my name is Doug, I would like to be your friend, Squirrel!”  Yeah…. that’s me.  And the internet is a very distracting thing.

I’m trying to stay positive and realize that 1. I do not have to finish this challenge if I can’t, and 2.there are only 12 more days of this challenge.

We are under the two week mark. I can do this.  So I am trying to break up the writing with reading. And writing poetry, and watching shows or movies I like.  I’m listening to music that inspires me. Songs like X Ambassadors “Renegades” and Sam Hunt’s “Take Your Time” and more. Those are two current favorites. I’m really starting to like Sam Hunt. He’s like an even cooler, sexier Florida Georgia Line and Luke Bryan wrapped up into one package, with just a touch of Ben Zorn from the Bachelorette.

Music, books, and movies are always helpful with staying positive. So is painting my nails.

So how do you stay positive as you write? Do you write daily and work on a novel or journalism? Is it you day job?  Or are you in the writing challenges like me?  All I can say is, every woman on the Write 31 Challenge has seemed to have had the same problem as me.  So I get you. I hear you. I can’t believe I’ve held out this long and not cracked.  And I can’t say as I have cracked yet.  But I’m gonna keep plugging away as I want to finish this.

So tell me how you stay positive.  Ironically, I wrote about staying positive at the beginning of the month.

Don’t forget. DaySpring.com is celebrating all of the amazing Write 31 Days readers who are supporting nearly 2,000 writers this October! To enter to win a $500 DaySpring shopping spree, just click on this link & follow the giveaway widget instructions. Good luck, and thanks for reading this rambling post today.

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

