The Tastes of Summer – Blogging U – Poetry 201

Okay, so the assignment for day 8 of Writing 201: Poetry was Day 8: Flavor, Elegy, Enumeratio.

My flavor went more with the tastes of summer, but as for elegy…. while there is a slightly somber feeling, it’s not quite my idea of an elegy. And I have no idea if I hit enough enumeratio. I need to work on both. I would never even try to do elegiac couplets. That’s insane. But I hope you enjoy. I’m already missing wearing shorts and being tanned. The summer went to fast.

 

And now the summer has faded away
In flavors of spice and leaves
From burning sun to frosty nights
and the naked bare leafless empty trees.
The days are warm, filled with a waiting sigh
dust and leaves and acorns fall
shades of orange, and gold and red
and green moss growing on a wall
But summer burning the baked earth smell
has faded to dampened spice
and the sun up high in an azure sky
is now not so warm and nice
Winter is coming the birds all chatter
as I’m craving summer sun
I’m wishing I could step back two months
when summer wasn’t nearly done.

 

Kate

5 thoughts on “The Tastes of Summer – Blogging U – Poetry 201

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

