Leaving Him Hanging – Flash Fiction – Day No. 9

This is a piece of fiction I started about two years ago and haven’t finished. The book June is reading is Persuasion by Jane Austen.  I actually quite a bit more to this, but well, this is what was actually typed up. I had several topics I could have written about today, but I was feeling a little ‘jet lagged’ as I like to call running on only 5 hours of sleep.  I hope you enjoy.

June’s voice sighed out in pleasure as she stopped reading.  

“Is that it?” Craig asked glancing over at her.

” No, but that’s the end of the chapter and I can’t read anymore.”  Her fingers replaced the crimson ribbon into the book and she closed the cover.

“What happens?  Or have you never read it before?”

“Oh, lots of things happen.  And yes, I have read it.  I won’t spoil it for you,” June teased and nudged his shoulder.

“I am going to assume by the happy sigh that this is a good part?”

“Yes,” June replied, a smile gracing her lips and a devilish form of delight lighting up her eyes.  She caught Craig watching her with undisguised fascination.

“What?” she asked, self consciously brushing a lock of her hair out of her face.

“I can’t believe you would leave me hanging with that.  A simple ‘yes’ and nothing more.  It’s not polite.”

“You’ll have to wait until next time to find out what happens.  I can’t read anymore,” she protested.

“Mmm,” Craig’s noncommittal tone had her looking at him.  “I guess I’ll have to find something else to entertain you with then.”

 

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

