It’s A Yoga Thing – Day No. 8

There is something about yoga that screams ‘woman’ to me. The lines are long and sensual along with the movement. While yoga was traditionally a male enlightenment thing, it has become predominantly a female thing, especially now. The flowing movement and strength is the epitome of Woman.

I have loved yoga for a long time, though over the past few years, I have not been as diligent as I should be with it.  When I am stretching and flowing through the moves, my lines are long and lean and I can move completely different.  As a joke I read in regards to doing yoga says, “Anyone can bend over and touch their toes. Just bend your knees.”  Sure, you can do that, but oh, to have straight legs and no bend… Now that is what I say is yoga. Okay, really it’s just stretching, but when you are doing yoga, it’s much easier.

I’d say too, that having a yoga muse really helps to keep one flowing and moving. For me, I adore Natasha Rizopoulis, and I first started really trying to be better at yoga when I picked up the first dvd in the Yoga Journal’s    Step by step yoga journal.  Session 1, Foundation poses for strength & stamina, from my library. That was several years ago, and while I have never been able to complete the fifteen minute entire sequence, I still go back to the basics of that routine when I feel the need to get back into yoga. It’s basically a sun salute and then a more in depth sun salute. It’s actually really good.

I also really like Katherine Budig also from Yoga Journal  is amazing to watch. Plus I like listening to her voice. I have found that if you do not like the person explaining the yoga, then you are going to get annoyed. So you have two gorgeous women explaining how to stretch, breath, and move in very graceful lines and I look at them and go, wow. I want to have that strength. This coming from a girl who gave up on the Plank challenge one day into it. I just have not been able to keep it up.

But I feel amazing when I am practicing. I can run better and I just feel more like a

Petra's Yoga Poses around the world

Petra’s Yoga Poses around the world (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

woman. Subtle strength. Something we all have. Inner strength. We may not be able to lift 100 pounds, but we can manage a household and kids and shopping and jobs and a  man and and and….. it’s that inner strength I’m talking about. Yoga is the epitome of that. Don’t you think?

And on a side note; another thing I love is tai chi. Graceful flowing motions that show a control that is rather amazing. I’m not exactly good at tai chi. In fact, I’m quite terrible, but I’d love to be good at it.

What is your thought on yoga? How do you view it in regards to being a woman? I’d love to know what you think.

Kate

2 thoughts on “It’s A Yoga Thing – Day No. 8

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

