You Are the First Lady, What is Your Social Cause? – Day No. 2

English: First Ladies Lady Bird Johnson, Pat N...

English: First Ladies Lady Bird Johnson, Pat Nixon, Rosalynn Carter, Betty Ford (front row, left to right), Nancy Reagan, and Barbara Bush (standing, left to right) at the dedication of the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A few years ago we had company and one topic that our guest brought up was “If you were the First Lady, what would your cause be? Talk about thought provoking subject. And honestly I hadn’t ever really thought about the causes of the first ladies other than Laura Bush because she had been a librarian and libraries were her thing, and my thing because I worked in a library. But you have Mrs. Obama who has eating healthy, Laura Bush and Libraries, Hillary Clinton and healthcare, Betty Ford and the stigma of alcoholism, and Lady Bird Johnson and the Highway Beautification Act, and lastly, Nancy Reagan and the Just Say No campaign to fight drugs.

All various, different, amazing causes. Whether you are a Republican, Democrat, left, right, up, or down, all of these causes are admirable. The platform of a First Lady is something that sets the stage for social issues during her and her husbands tenure as commander in chief.

So… if you were the First Lady, what would you make your cause be?
For me, working in the library system and seeing how it works along with having ideas on how to make it better, I would definitely chose a program for improving libraries and literacy.

I loved being a ‘librarian’. I put it in quotes because I do not have a degree in library science and my title was like a glorified volunteer. Bit I was in charge a fair amount as a substitute librarian, so I still use that. I think libraries are a wonderful thing and something we should continue to support and advance as time moves forward. I see fewer and fewer people using the library for research and reading and more using it for the internet access and social programs. While I think all of those are good things, reading and hard copies of books are things I think that should be promoted.

I have written about libraries in the past and my view on them, you can read some of the posts I’ve linked below.  I love my library, but I think my library needs serious improvement. I think a library needs to sell itself.  Sure, there are die hard fans, like me, that will frequent the library  because they love it and want books.  However, most people need a nudge.

So I would figure out ways to improve on the nudges. And getting kids back into reading. You don’t need to be a nerd to read. So few children are reading books these days, not like what I remember when I was younger. Going to the library was an event. And parents read to their kids more.

Just talking with my grandmother the other day, she mentioned that two of her great-grandkids has hoards of books, but they never have them read to them because they have ‘too many other fun things to play with’. There is some serious sarcasm put in there via me.  Reading is important for kids. They need it to expand their minds. So few parents are taking their kids to the library, and that is a shame.

So, that is a basic of what I would do if I was the First Lady. I would have a library and literacy program. I would have a blast.

Now, it’s your turn. What would you make your cause if you were the First Lady, ladies?  And Men, I’d love your input as well.  Say you could pick a cause. What would it be? You don’t need to be a woman to have a cause.

That being said, I will throw some attention to a man Mrs. B met this summer hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. He is from Canada, and he is hiking the trail to raise money for a school in Haiti. He is an electrical engineer, and while down working in Haiti, he helped build and teach (I believe. I didn’t meet him so my story is a little off) The charity is Trek for Hope and you can check it out by clicking that link. I urge you to take a peek, maybe donate, and check out “Ike’s” blog posts about his trek.   Here is also the Facebook page with its info filled in as “Hiking solo from Canada to Mexico along the Pacific Crest Trail to raise funds to build a school in Haiti!

Like I said, we all need a cause.

 

Plank Challenge : 20 seconds

 

 

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

