Positivity – Day No. 1

Here is day one of my 31 Days in October. Ironically, I chose positivity to be my first post about a month ago. The irony is trying to stay positive knowing as I write this that I have 30 more posts I have to write and I’m not as far along as I had hoped. I have semi started three posts and it’s only  four days until this post is actually going to go online.  (I’m tapping it out on a Sunday trying to get ahead of the game. Yikes!) So here goes.

Positivity is something that seems to be a trait inherent to women. We are supposed to be positive. Have a positive outlook on life. Project positivity in all we do. But sometimes we aren’t. In fact, I would bet you that most women are positive less than 50% of the time. No, this is not an actual statistic; just some common sense and looking at my own life. Men can be moody, and suddenly they are mysterious. Women are moody and it’s PMS.  I’m sorry, but it’s hard to stay positive when 5 days out of every month (this is lowballing it. I would go more like 12 days out of the month)  things are not working quite in tandem with actually feeling good.  (I feel like I should cue Michael Buble and have him sing his ‘Feeling Good’ song.)

I was listening to Joy the Baker’s podcast, No. 125 yesterday…. Okay it was actually in late August…. so yesterday means the 26th of August…. moving on.  In it, Joy and her cohost, Tracy, were talking about how to stay positive when things are getting to you. It all had to do with New Orleans and the ‘stabby’ season. It’s so hot you want to just stab something. (To get the full effect of what I’m talking about, listen to the podcast)

So what do you do when you are not so positive? For me, music is huge. I have my sad songs, my jazz songs, my pop, and if I need a boost, I turn to various songs. I can’t pick anything in particular, but something with a good beat. Lately, my need for music has been higher than usual. I have needed some ‘downtime’ in which I can just chill. Granted, my chilling is while hanging laundry, or cleaning chicken pans.

Sometimes finding the little things in life are good for a positive boost. Like taking a picture of a favorite subject…… for me this is pretty much flowers, flowers, bees, and more flowers.

Flowers fix everything.  Which reminds me of Anna Kendrick in her Miss Adventure for Kate Spade.  See?

 

All ways to keep very positive in my mind.

In the podcast, both the gals were talking about rosewater as a way to stay positive. Personally, while I love rosewater, I won’t use it on my face.  But I love essential oils and they keep my mind happy.  Fresh scents most of the time. I love Rosemary and Lemon. Citrus oils are my friend. All time favorite oil I think is Lime. It smells like you just grated lime peel.  Yep, that’s a good way to stay positive.

And lastly, while these items might seem cliche, they work.   Exercise.  I run, or bike, or yoga.  That endorphin/adrenaline boost  is really powerful.   And coffee. Or tea. You can never have enough coffee or tea in my mind. Men drink alcohol…. women drink tea.

How do you stay positive?

 

Plank Challenge: 20 seconds

Kate

2 thoughts on “Positivity – Day No. 1

  1. Love this! Glad I stopped by! And I love the graphic…in case of emergency, your mascara first, then assist others..LOL. Just reading this post helped me feel/stay “positive” as Im still trying to get it together for the 31 Days myself, haha!
    Love from Holland, keep going!
    Jasmine

    • Jasmine, thanks so much. I know, isn’t that graphic great!? I saw it a year ago on Tumblr and was like, oh, my gosh, perfect. So glad this helped you stay positive. I’m panicking though I’m not sure why. I can just slowly tap out the posts. Wow, Holland, wonderful! I’m in California USA. 🙂 Hang in there yourself. Sending lots of love and good vibes your way.

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

