Dear Romance – Writing 101 Day 14

Dear Romance,

You spend your days hiding amongst the pages of  trashy novels or delightful love stories. You are the hero in the white knight costume. You are the heroine rushing to save the hero. You are the candles in the dinner or the music on the front porch. You are light, you are dark, you are not around for me.

I read about you in all things and I see you as I look at films.  The sweet romance of two tree swallows. The burning desire of Darcy and Lizzy.  You are in all things.

But you run from me.  You have left me. I have not seen you in years. You don’t cross my path. You flirt and tease me with your presence, just lingering on the fringes of my life,  but you never deem to enter and present yourself.

I’m lost and alone without you. I am left trying to find you. Hunt you down. I write about you and I dream about you for my characters. I plot out how you will enter or disappear. But how do I write about you when you don’t exist in my life?  How do I create a nuance of little moments that come together into what makes you so desirable?

You are so wanted by all women. You are what makes romance novels sell. You suck us into your sweet fragrance of kisses and love. Of roses and pink. Of candlelight dinners and walks on the beach. Though I must say, that is not what I really think of as romantic. That is for others. For me, I want a swinging bench with a man. Or maybe a night to stargaze and dream. With said man.

To each woman, You mean something different.

But to me, you are not there.

 

Sincerely,

Lost and lonely

 

 

So for Writing 101’s  Day 14 assignment which is:

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there.

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

 

I picked up Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and the first word that hit me was ‘Romantic’. I chose to go with more romance than romantic and I wrote a letter.  I love epistolary stuff… I.E. letters, but this didn’t turn out quite as nice as I wanted. I need to come back and try it again, I think.

I’m still having issues sitting down and attempting any writing assignments, so followers will have to just take what i post. It’s a crazy time with the growing season and I’m still spending more time reading than writing.

 

Kate

17 thoughts on “Dear Romance – Writing 101 Day 14

    • I really appreciate your feedback. I actually had fun writing this because I have this thing about letters. I love writing letters. I read a great letter to boobs the other day, it was part of the prompt Michelle W. sent out. It was done so well, I wanted to try doing it.

  1. Oh, what a wonderful letter! Your writing and thoughts flow so well 🙂 I have a feeling romance has deserted me too, but I hope it finds us both again (and soon too)!

    • Thank you so much. Oh, i feel for you if romance has deserted you. It’s a total bummer, but sometimes it’s something we must all go through. I find when I have less romance in my life, I write better. Sad, but true.

        • It really is sad that the less romance in ones life can lead to marvelous works of romantic style. It really should be the other way around, but then, I guess when you are filled with romance, why write about it. I mean, you just enjoy all the feelings, you don’t need to write. So glad I’m not the only one who feels this way though. 🙂 I still say, some of my best poetry comes when I am totally down in the dumps. It’s angsty and full of emotion. When I’m happy, it’s too puppy dogs and buttercups.

          • Yeah I definitely agree. It is weird and perhaps a little sad but perhaps it’s the whole therapeutic aspect of writing, right? When you’re feeling good you don’t need to let it all out coz you wanna keep it all in but when you’re sad it’s the opposite. And letting it all out makes you feel good! It is nice to know that other people feel the same 🙂

          • I think people underestimate the therapy in writing, but exactly what you said. When you are happy and feeling good, why share it with the world? You hold on tight and don’t let it go. (I actually lost two years of my life in writing due to being in a relationship) I have gotten much better about not letting all of that control me, because I like writing!

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

