Poetry – Distrusting Trust

Day three of the poetry challenge.  How The Daily Post seems to pick themes that affect me so, wonders me frequently. Other than I can find meaning in just about everything.  Today’s theme of Trust is rather apropos considering my feelings on it regarding someone in my life.

So here it goes

 

Do you see how you affect me?
Insecurity at your words
Standing here like a lost child
Tears have become my new friend
Reap the rewards of your cruelty
Unbroken is how you stand
Still I ache at what you said
Trust? What does that even mean now?

I can’t even attempt the device of inner rhyme. It’s not a method I like, nor do I want to really attempt to cultivate it much. I find it strange. But maybe somewhere down the line.

Kate

8 thoughts on “Poetry – Distrusting Trust

    • Oh, I would agree with you. It’s a strange sort of sad anger, if that means anything. Unfortunately I was confined by only so many letters so I couldn’t expand further. Hmm, maybe I should do a follow up.

        • Well good. I totally agree with you. I like the meaning in between the words, and you sit there wondering the ‘rest of the story’ so to speak. That is one of the things I love about the poet Billy Collins. He has this way of saying everything, but not really always saying it.

          • Ooh yes, and then it’s so interesting to hear different interpretations. I’ll have a look at his work. There’s definitely a world of poetry I need to catch up on, the last time I looked at it was when studying in English literature quite a few years ago!

          • I really started focusing on poetry when I read Poemcrazy by Susan Goldsmith Wooldridge. It was more on writing poetry, but it started opening me up to more than classic rhyming poetry. There is so much out there it can be exhausting to try and figure out what to read next!

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

