What Are We – Poem (and more)

What Are WeI swear, I have written more ‘good’ poetry in the past week than I have all year. Sometimes one needs a focus, and right now, I have one. (on a side note, I’ve been watching too much ‘magical-ish’ type things as I’m thinking of ley lines and focuses for magic) But as writers, we do need a focus. Be it a song, a picture, or a person. Everyone needs their muse. My muse is a person right now. Frustration runs supreme with him, but it makes for some of my best work. I honestly wonder if writers can actually be happy. Maybe they need the unhappy in life to write the happy. Because I can say that I write best when I’m in a depressed mood. Not like seriously depressed, but when I’m not my perfect giddy self. When I’m giddy, I just want to absorb life. When I’m down, I write to escape life. I focus on the gritty of life. I write poetry and I get my hands dirty. So to speak.

So, as you can see, my frustration is hitting my poetry. And I’m listening to the most amazing playlist and it works with my mood. Check out the playlist here, Great Northern Campfire Vol. 5. 

Maybe you can play it while you write. Maybe it will inspire you during this cold time of year. While the nights come too soon, and the new year is here.

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

