Winter Haikus

I was inspired recently by C.B. Wentworth‘s post on haikus, The Haiku Debate.  Her article was quite interesting and I urge you all to go take a look.  I liked how she talked about traditional form and non traditional.  The 5-7-5 rules and how Japanese haiku was never written in three lines, but one long line. I figured that out from reading Liza Dalby‘s East Wind Melts the Ice (a personal favorite book of mine).

 

I actually really like haiku, though I don’t read much of it.  It’s rather soothing, short and says a whole lot in a very little space. I’m very wordy, never get my point across quickly, and ramble. So this is like a breath of fresh air for me. So, haiku is this cute little package of poetry. You can jot it down on a small piece of paper and it doesn’t take up any room.

 

So I pulled out my Haikubes the other night and used them to come up with two wintery haikus. I just picked some keywords and added in what I thought fit for the time of year. Here is what I came up with

 

 

 

Winter promises

English: Flying geese over Marsh Farm Marsh Fa...

English: Flying geese over Marsh Farm Marsh Farm campsite http://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/1396185 has lots of fishing lakes to attract birds, these seem to live on the site full time apart from when they all take their evening flight. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Grand icy traveling

 

Fire warms any heart

 

 

 

And

 

 

 

Flocks of lofty geese

 

Flying giant arrow vees

 

Wind over water

 

 

They might not be quite right, but I liked the thought.  And it’s practice. I feel I should probably read Basho’s book on haiku, but I’ve not gotten around to reading it yet. I only have so much time for poetry and I have a lot of poets I follow now.

 

But I want to thank C.B. for her post because it was the inspirational kick I needed.

 

What do you all think? And do you write haiku?

 

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

