Christmas Stories

So the title of this post is rather misleading because I’m not talking stories about Christmas, but books that happen to have Christmas within the pages of the book.  Sadly enough, what first came to mind when I was thinking about this was a romance novel by Lisa Kleypas titled “Suddenly You.”

I love books that have that Christmas theme running through them.  It doesn’t have to take up much of the story, but I love when you draw it in and it is what makes up an intrinsic part of the plot. Maybe a gift from the hero to the heroine. Something personal even though they are at odds with each other.  Maybe it’s the heroine going away to her parents to regroup after being totally befuddled by the hero.  So you have her staying there during the holidays, and her crazy smart sister gives advice that leads the plot on further.

Maybe, like the case of Dear Mr. Knightley, by Katherine Reay, the heroine learns more about herself and being loved and loving others. (I loved the Christmas part in Dear Mr. Knightley.

In Suddenly You, the heroine is a spinster that breaks down and goes to the lavish party being held by her new publisher, a rakish man.  The party is incredible and the hero is sexy, and heroine is sweet, and they finally give in to their desires and decide to do something about it….. I mean sex, by the way.  Lol.  I’m so laughing here because, really, is this what Christmas has boiled down to?  Sex?

I’m just joking because I really do love this part in the book. And in any book where it comes to play.  There is something magical about the holidays, and the attitudes of people.

If I had been having a novel written about me, I went to meet my boyfriend years ago on the holidays.  That was a massive mistake, but it made me who I am now. And I could have probably written some interesting stuff about that holiday.  So long ago, and that said boyfriend is now married to someone else and they have a baby girl. Go figure.

So I’m curious, does anyone have a specific book that has Christmas within the walls of the book that just makes them feel ooey gooey inside?  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has one of my favorite Christmas themes in it. I love the wizards chess and the cloak… (I’m afraid I’m thinking of the movie as well)  And I love the Chronicles of Narnia The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and the Christmas-y theme in that.

So what book do you love with a Christmas vibe?

Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

