Pumpkin Spice

Go figure, but this year I am so into Pumpkin Spice I’m probably going to wear down my family. I want to mix it in everything.  I’ve mixed it with plain hot tea and come up with an amazing spiced tea; I’ve put it in oatmeal with raisins for breakfast; I made pumpkin cookies that didn’t have pumpkin spice in them per say, but cinnamon was definitely in them…. I cannot get enough of this stuff.  See the cookies I made last night? Marvelous aren’t they?

Pumpkin Spice Cookies with Penuche Frosting

Pumpkin Spice Cookies with Penuche Frosting

Then there is this marvelous recipe from Joy the Baker that I feel I must try. Maple Spiced Almond Milk with a hint of Pumpkin.  I haven’t sat down and soaked my almonds for making into almond milk, but I do have the pumpkin out.  So I need to do that.

I want to smell the spice everywhere. I want it in everything. I want to sprinkle it on my toast with sugar. I want to eat it in pies and cakes and drinks.  There is something so delicious about the spices.  And I find it rather interesting that they say men absolutely adore the scent of these spices.  Want to catch a man? Bake a Pumpkin Pie…..  Or maybe just sprinkle on some of the spice cabinet….

Signing off

Kate

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice

  1. I make my dogs home-made cookies. With all the pumpkins around, I got one of those small, flat ones with the dark skin. Made cookies for the pups with pumpkin and apple sauce, then my housemate made pumpkin muffins….. now I am ADDICTED to them. I don’t really care for pumpkin, but those muffins are de-lish!

    • Dogs just seem to love pumpkin, don’t they? I have two doxies and they just eat it up. But cookies from pumpkin and apple sauce is just marvelous. I love it. And how can anyone resist pumpkin muffins. I found a recipe in the Pillsbury that is for pumpkin bars. I feel I must try them as well.

      • 2 cups flour (I grind up oatmeal fine and use that for flour – dogs can be highly allergic to wheat, just like people)

        1 cup pumpkin puree (you can use canned, but I buy the flat dark orange kind when they are available. Half cut into 1/4 inch strips and dried for chews, the other half used as we talked about)

        1/4 cut all-natural apple sauce (no preservatives or sugar added)

        2 tablespoons all natural peanut butter (I use chunky, HiJinx loves that)

        Heat the oven to 350. You can use parchment paper on your baking trays, I don’t, just a bit of olive oil rubbed around.

        Mix the wet ingredients, mix into the dry, Roll into 1/4 inch flat and cut out. You can use cookie cutters, I just use a sharp knife and cut into cookie-sized rectangles – Jinxy doesn’t care!

        Bake for 25 minutes, until brown. She doesn’t like them overcooked – I burned the bottom of one batch and you should have SEEN the look she gave me!

        I reviewed the “Dog Treat Cookbook” by Mindi Berg on my site a while back. That is a really good book for quick, easy treaties! The recipe I gave you here is adjusted from her “Apple Soft Bites” recipe. I changed oat for the wheat flour, and substituted pumpkin for the sweet potato puree (though, I HAVE made the bites from the sweet potato puree and she loves them as well.)

        You will have to let me know how the doxies like the treats! 😉

    • Well, this is my first foray into pumpkin this year so don’t feel so bad. These cookies are delish and amazingly, gluten free because my mother and sister can’t eat wheat. But they work marvelous with either method…. (if you are interested I can post both recipes….

      Oh, shame on you is right. Must get to using pumpkin right away. 🙂

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

