Where Do Your Thinks Come From

Cover of "Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day ...

Cover via Amazon

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson was written as Ms. Watson washed the dishes.  She would stare out her window and plot what was to become a marvelous story (though I have to say I enjoyed the film more….)

 

“Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try…”

Says Dr. Seuss.  And he would know, because my goodness, that man came up with some thinks!

I find that I think my thinks in some of the oddest places, especially when it comes to writing my novels.  Some of my best thinking comes when I’m standing under the hot spray of the shower. Why there?  Who knows. Maybe water is refreshing of the mind. It clears the cobwebs and washes away the dirt and troubles of the day.

I’m also famous for plotting while I spread mulch, wash dishes, clean the toilet, watering the yard, picking berries, walking to town. I can rarely plot while sitting down to write. I find that my mind goes blank while sitting at a blank screen or sheet of paper. Granted, I have found that sitting over the baseboard heater at the breakfast table with a cup of coffee in the afternoon is one of my best thinking spots. I’ve scribbled out countless thoughts and ideas there. Something about having a warm behind and that cup of coffee…

I find that I can come up with ideas when I’m doing the most mundane things, but have no time to write it all down. I have to hold onto the ideas and pray that I don’t forget them while scrubbing the shower until I can grab that piece of paper and a few moments scribble it all down.  It can be exhausting at times, but it’s also exhilarating to have thoughts flood your mind.

So, I’m curious, where do you do your thinks from? Do you plot as you walk? Do you compose as you water with the hose? Are you like Ms. Watson and write as you wash?

How do you get your thinks?

Signing of

Kate

 

8 thoughts on “Where Do Your Thinks Come From

  1. Well, my inspiration happens when I get into that creative space and then bits and pieces flows, as I go about the day to day life 🙂 But I carry a note book and jot them down to not forget.

  2. I find most of my best ideas come to me when I’m commuting or daydreaming. There’s something about routine movement that encourages rambling thoughts to come together. If I think I have the beginning of what seems to a substantial post, then I jot it down on my phone to be transcribed later.

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

