What’s Your Tune

Do you ever associate music with a person? Most of the time I find I will associate certain songs with certain characters. Something that fits them to a ‘T’ and kind of describes them, though I’m sure most people wouldn’t get what I’m talking about, nor would I get why a song would fit with something they liked.

For instance, one of my characters, based on Tyler Hubbard of FLG, has a song and it’s “I’m On Fire” by Bruce Springsteen. (this character, aptly named Tyler, was originally based on Elliot from Leverage [Christian Kane‘s character] so there is some residual) For some reason, that song personifies ‘Tyler’. Don’t ask me why, but it just does.

Just like “Do You Remember” by Jay-Sean personifies my character of Cal in another really unplotted story. (Yes, I just made that word up. Unplotted)

Then I have music for characters in books I read, etc.

But I’ve found recently that people in my life have a song. For one, Boris gets the song “Stay With Me” by Sam Smith. Part of the reason is personal, and the other part, well I can’t really explain. For some reason this song fits him perfectly.

Another example is the song “Magdalenha” by Sergio Mendes. This song was used on Dancing With the Stars for a samba William Levy and Cheryl Burke danced to. The way William Levy shook his assets in this song, along with his gorgeous body remind me of one of my town’s local police officers. I refer to him as Officer Levy in my writings (to keep the anonymity) and sometimes in my head. And whenever I see Officer Levy, I start humming “Magdalenha”…..

We associate music with a lot of things, or a least I do, but I’m curious, what do you put music to? Do you have certain songs for certain people? My friend Mim has a song, but I can’t actually remember it, but she used it for her ring tone for quite a while and I came to associate her with this reference even if I can’t remember the song.

Yes, my brain is weird. And yes, this is not the best post in the world, but it has been on my mind for a while, and it’s late… Excuses excuses.

Signing off
Kate

4 thoughts on “What’s Your Tune

  1. Sometimes I wish life came with a soundtrack so I would be able to more fully express and experience interactions with people and what is generally happening “on screen” at that moment.
    I used to assign ringtones to each person in my life and to this day whenever I hear “Carry on my wayward son” by Kansas, I think of my little sister because of our mutual love for a little show called Supernatural.

    • Awww I love that about your sister. (Mims, in my post, is a huge Supernatural fan, so she’d probably get that reference about the song better than I would) I know what you mean about a perpetual soundtrack to your life. If I had a cell phone, I would be of the type to assign ringtones for everyone. It would probably change depending on new songs that related, but yeah, I totally get it.

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

