Word of the Day – Arch

Seven_of_nineShe arched a brow. His brow arched in question.  Arched, as in, brow raise in question, disbelief, sarcasm… or whatever other reason you would arch a brow. I don’t know, just ask Seven of Nine. She did it all the time!  I use arched now instead of cocked because my dictionary doesn’t recognize ‘cocked’ as being a word. Go figure, because something can be cock-eyed, but not a brow. So now I use arched. And when I say I use it…. I mean ALL. THE. TIME.  I probably go overboard, but since I can do it so well with my left brow, I figure every one of my characters should.

 

1arch

noun \ˈärch\

: a usually curved part of a structure that is over an opening and that supports a wall or other weight above the opening

: the raised area on the bottom of the foot that is formed by a curved section of bones

: something that has a curved shape

Full Definition of ARCH

1
:  a typically curved structural member spanning an opening and serving as a support (as for the wall or other weight above the opening)
2

a :  something resembling an arch in form or function; especially :  either of two vaulted portions of the bony structure of the foot that impart elasticity to it

 b :  a curvature having the form of an arch
3:  archway
Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Word of the Day – Arch

  1. Seven of Nine! Haven’t thought about her for a long time. How about those arch rivals, the Borgs? They always raised one of my eyebrows into an arch. Still do. They remind me of certain people…. 😉

    • She was great, wasn’t she? You forget about those characters, but yeah, those Borgs. Nasty guys. They creeped me out so much! “Prepare to be boarded. You will be assimilated. Resistance is futile.” I’d shiver and start sweating. 🙂 Ah, yes, there are some people that do remind me of the Borg….. Kind of like there are some people that remind me of Dementors. 🙂

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

