A Note To My Readers Regarding My Book Reviews

I’m sure all of you think by now that I only read Christian books since that is only what I review. On the contrary.  I rarely read Christian books of any sort other than the ones I review, and that is due to a contract I have with Book Look Bloggers a subsidiary of Harper Collins Christian Publishing.  I signed up for their service quite a while ago, IE you can tell by my first book review, and as part of the contract, they send me a book free of charge for my honest review of the book.

It has been interesting delving into more religious based books considering that even though I grew up a Christian, I did not read a lot of Christian based books other than my school books.  And the only books that I read that are Christian based happen to be the ones I review.

When I am reading on my free time, my book choices vary like the market place in Marseille.  I joke that I keep my library in business by ordering the random assortment of books that I’m forever reading.  Recently I’ve been on a Maisie Dobbs theme or anything that deals with WWI and WWII.  I’m reading All Quiet on the Western Front, and I have several other books stacked up in various places I’m reading. In fact, I have way too many books to read. I just recently remembered that I was reading The Forgotten Man… apropos since I forgot it.  I need to start that up again.

I read Janet Dailey‘s Americana series when I’m in a romance mood, or my beloved Emilie Loring‘s, which have also been in my rotation as of late. I read classics, poetry, cookbooks (cookbooks are not meant to cook out of but to read in my opinion), gardening books, how to make wine, the architecture through the ages, essential oils and related.  My tastes are as varied as my music likes….. I was listening to Jason Derulo‘s “Talk Dirty to Me” and One Republic‘s new song on the radio today, grooving along, while a few days ago it was all folk and BroCountry.

So, why do I only write Christian book reviews?  Because I’m too lazy to write any other book review. I have to force the reviews out of me in the first place. I’m just not into the whole ‘book report’ thing. I’m trying. Really hard, because hey, a career in writing book reviews is good, but I just don’t think it’s for me.

So, that’s just what I do.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

