Word of the Day – Murmur

Murmur; murmured.  There are only so many words to use for someone talking softly.  And in an intimate situation, murmur is the perfect word. All my characters murmur at some point. I probably over use the word.

1mur·mur

noun \ˈmər-mər\

: a low sound made when many people are speaking

: a quiet expression of an opinion or feeling

: speech or a way of speaking that is quiet and soft

1:  a half-suppressed or muttered complaint :  grumbling
2a :  a low indistinct but often continuous sound

 b :  a soft or gentle utterance
3:  an atypical sound of the heart typically indicating a functional or structural abnormality
I use definition 2b as my meaning of the word, though as I happen to have a minor heart murmur, I suppose when I talk with my doctor, I do use that…..  Moving on.
My hero murmurs into the heroine’s ear.  My heroine murmurs her agreement. I literally use murmur all the time instead of just ‘said’ or ‘said with some adverb’  (Damn you Stephen King for making me restrain myself with adverbs!)
If anyone has another good synonym for ‘murmur’ I’d love to know!
Writing on
~Kate
Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

