Cloud Banks

I’m in a cloud bank.  A wet and rainy mist-shrouded world of constant drip, drip, dripping.  Plunking on the metal roof, and a perpetual splat sound echoing outside.  Rain, rain, rain. It’s wet, it’s misty, it’s damp.  Paper is feeling damp.  The hygrometer says it’s 77% humidity in the house.  Damp, damp.  Soon anything that shouldn’t mold, might start.  It’s an old house.  Things mold.  Musty smells are common.  Thank goodness it’s not Britain….

The year started off dry.  So dry.  With one small snow storm that turned to ice for weeks… or a week (a week of ice feels much longer than it really is).  No rain.  Dry, dry, dry.  Everyone kept asking. “Well, what are you going to do if it doesn’t rain?”  This was in December or early January….  Can I smack those people now?  Not rain! Ha! Right.

Why do people feel the need to bemoan the weather before the season is even over? I get so tired of people saying it’s too wet, it’s too dry, it’s too windy, it’s too hot, it’s too cold.  Really?  Is there any perfect weather?  Uh, no.

We live in California. It can rain, it can snow, and it can be dry.  Heck, it can do that all in one afternoon where I live.  You think I’m joking?  The standard reply to whether or not you like the weather is to wait five minutes.  It can change that fast here.  Yet people that live here feel the need to predict the bad weather 6 months in advance, or ask me what I might do because of the bad weather, when the result will be six months from now.  That’s like asking me right now what I plan to have for dinner on the 8th of August.  Tell you what, why don’t you call me up on that day and ask me.  Not now.

So, rain rain rain.  It’s good.  There might be some minor flooding for the area, but hey, we can handle it.  Though I’m sure someone, somewhere is going to be complaining there head off about it.  Don’t look at me, I don’t make the weather.  Ask the Big Guy upstairs.

Signing off

~Kate

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

