Life Goes On

sochi  After two weeks plus of winter Olympics, I’m at a loss.  The world means just a little less to me and there is nothing to look forward to.  Life goes on.

Okay, that might be a bit dramatic, but honestly, after filling each night with sports for over a two week period, it just seems a little empty without all that drama.  I really got hooked into the Olympics this year. Not that I don’t every time they come around, but it seems like this time I was really focused on all the events.  I cut out some of my regularly scheduled watching for certain things like speed skating, which I normally love, to watching much more alpine events.  And curling. I have watched a fair amount of curling, though definitely not enough to what I would like to watch.curling-sochi-triangle-e1392306863656

I got hooked on curling with the Salt Lake City or maybe Torino games.  I was taping them in the middle of the night and watching them with my dad.  I got hooked on curling.  I only remember to really focus on it ever four years, but when I do, watch out, you are gonna hear about it.

I have gotten my sister to like watching the three hour games, and she will watch them as she folds laundry.  And I show great moves to my father, and try to explain the game to my mom, and wonder why everyone says the game is so hard to understand.  It has got to be the most simple thing to get.  It blows my mind that people don’t understand, and my only take on it is, they don’t really want to.

Sochi-Olympics-Curling-Men-1I have learned all the things I know about curling, rules, lingo, etc, from watching the games. I can explain what the hammer is, the button, a freeze, shot rock, the skip, and I can know where a rock/stone needs to be placed just from the set up.  And I don’t even take a serious look at the game. I just watch it.

Kind of how l learned how tennis was played. I watched it.

It surprises me how little people pay attention to things.  They go along in life saying, “I don’t understand that, or this”, but they never actually take the time to even try.  They are so wrapped up in their own thing that it becomes a cop out.

Yes, I am ranting.

Ted Ligety Sochi 2014

Ted Ligety Sochi 2014

Anyways, the games are over. I loved all of it. Ted Ligety (Split) was one of the most exciting gold medals to see, along with Erin Hamlin and Davis and White.  And Andrew Weibrecht winning silver. All so exciting to see.  I was supremely disappointed with how lousy our two curling teams were.  I saw mistakes everywhere and I do not play the game. I was highly impressed with the Canadian teams and honestly, USA needs to take a few (or more) pointers from them.  We sucked.

Well, the games were great. I can’t wait for South Korea.  And now back to the semi final round of curling with Canada and China, then the gold medal round.  I still have them dvr’ed and I am going to be watching them.  I know, I’m strange.

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

