How I Pick My Superbowl Team

Anyone that knows me knows I do not watch football.  Fortunately my father is not a football fan and he really could care less about the game at all.  In fact, any football that is watched in this household comes from either me or my sister that want to watch a game.  That being said, I do make concessions for the Superbowl.  I will watch that game and I have enjoyed a couple years where the plays were good.  Though, until yesterday, I hadn’t actually ever watched the whole game.  So, clearly, I am not a huge football fan.

And if I watch a game, I have to pick a side I’m going to cheer for.  It’s too confusing to cheer for both sides.

Here is my strategy.

Do I like the colors?  Yep, I’m superficial. I choose teams by colors. When I don’t like either of the colors of either team, I pick the least offensive colors.  Really scientific. Terribly girly.

Has the team won the Superbowl recently?  If one team playing won  most recently, I will not root for you. You have to be a team that hasn’t won in a while.

Do you have a good name?  I don’t like certain team names. Partly because of association. Just because my family is from the Bay Area does not mean I will ever root for the Raiders. Sorry, but they go against every bone in my body.

And are you the Cowboys?  Don’t judge, but that is my ‘official’ team when I pick a team to cheer for. Is it for any logical reason?  Nope. I just like the colors and the cheerleaders.

But I’m thinking of changing my team.  But I’ll come back to that.

Here is how I picked my team this year.  It was an iffy choice.  Seahawks because my mother is from Washington, her friend was cheering for them because she’s from Washington, and I like the colors.  My cons were Sherman, not that I had actually see what his comments were. I just knew there was a controversy.

Then the Broncos.  I used to live in Colorado, and come on, don’t you have to cheer for a Manning brother?  Isn’t it like a prerequisite to cheer for one of the Manning brothers?  Cons, I hate the colors. I hate the term bronco, and  I never liked John Elway.

Well, I ended up cheering for the Seahawks because their plays were so incredible and they seemed like a better team.  It wasn’t until halfway through that I found out they had never won the Superbowl. That sealed the deal.  They were the decided underdog. I now had my team.

It doesn’t hurt that this game was one of the best games I have ever seen. I was shocked at Peyton Manning because, isn’t he supposed to be like one of the best QB’s ever?  Well, I was quite impressed with Russell Wilson and I really enjoyed that game.

And I think I may have my new team. I never thought I would move on from the Cowboys…. Not that I like them, but I just couldn’t get behind any other team.  I think maybe I now have a reason. No, I’m still not going to watch any more games other than the Superbowl.  Or the Rose Bowl, like I did this year, but hey, it’s fun to have a team.

Signing off,

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

