Christmas Time Is Here

Our lovely patriotic tree. Done up in burgundy balls, turquoise baubles, and glittery icy white snowballs, icicles and dancing reindeer.

Our lovely patriotic tree. Done up in burgundy balls, turquoise baubles, and glittery icy white snowballs, icicles and dancing reindeer.

I’m sitting here looking at our lovely tree, dripping with icicles and red balls; gorgeous turquoise ornaments, and reindeer that leap and prance across the branches, twinkling with the most luscious glitter.  The tree sparkles and twinkles, dripping with jewels.  It is an elegant tree.

And it’s December 30th, 2012.  Yup, I am writing this post from last year.  Or it will be last year when this is eventually published.  I’m being proactive.  I never get around to posting an honest to goodness Christmas post here because I’m besieged with other holiday plans.  Like sitting back on the couch and reading because there is actually time.

I love Christmas.  My parents, growing up, had years of not the best Christmases and they more than made up for it for me and my sister.  I have adored Christmas since I can remember.  From the tree to the decorations, to the Mom and Pop bringing back special Christmas treats when they  came back from their mini vacation away from us two for a few days.  The Christmas season never lasted long enough, and still never does.  The one constant?  My family.

My family is always together for this holiday, partly because they can’t get rid of me.  I have had the luxury, though at times I don’t find it to be that way, of being able to spend all my Christmases with my family, excluding the one where I spent it in Pittsburgh with my then, boyfriend.

I love our traditions of watching The Holiday and The Santa Clause.  I love how we have our one Christmas cd we play over and over and over until it’s ingrained in our heads.  I love making homemade eggnog that every one raves about.  And I love just the whole spirit that is part of our family.

Christmas is definitely more about the family and spirit than the presents.  As the Grinch figured out And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice cold in the snow, stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so? It came without ribbons. It came without tags. It came without packages, boxes or bags. And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before. What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store. What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.”

So, from the cold and snowy, White Christmas land of 2012, Merry Christmas dear readers.  Have a lovely Holiday.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

