Throwing Three Prompts Into My Life

Okay WordPressers, I am going to throw three The Daily Post prompts into one post.  Why, you ask?  Well, honestly it’s because they all seem to fit together, at least for my state of mind.  That might mean I’m a little off my rocker, but I think I am allowed that. I am

  1. a female. I can do whatever I want, right? (not really, but it’s my prerogative) AND
  2. I met a guy.  That pretty much throws common sense out of the window at any given point. So please bear with me.

First prompt was No Fair.

I don’t think it’s very fair to meet an incredible guy, only to have said guy tell you that you will make some guy very happy someday.  Especially when you have just clicked with ‘this’ guy and by clicked, I mean really clicked.  Then to have the guy leave.

I am a very single girl woman living where there supply of decent, eligible, marriageable men is severely limited. I mean, severely.  I can probably count on one hand the men I know that are somewhat in this category.  The rest of the men my age are either married themselves or are in the sketchy category.  So, when a charming man who is single, has a good job (a really good job) is a marvelous flirt and a brilliant kisser, comes into your life, you kind of want to hold onto said guy.  It’s not fair to have him up and leave.

Okay, yes, he is hiking the PCT.  He does only have two weeks of vacation left before he has to get back to work at a hospital in Portland, Oregon (can I hear a luxurious sigh, because that’s what I did). He does have family to visit. The weather is not holding out.  But come on.  Pretty girl. Interested pretty girl.  Couldn’t you stay? Like one day longer?  Especially when you have had one incredible evening?  Fair. Ha!

Second prompt. Standstill (and this is not in the exact order that they have been in because I have to fit the non sequitur into the last paragraph)

Oh if I could bring time to a standstill.  I know the ‘rules were for today, but the heck with today. I wish I could make that evening stand still for hours longer.  Five hours was not enough time.  I could just replay it over and over for much longer.

I sometimes wish I could have that standstill moment when important things happen.  So that you can really savor the time and the circumstances.  I would make everything last just a little bit longer.  Heck, if I couldn’t have that time stop, at least slow down.  Time flies too fast for me and nothing ever lasts as long as I want.  An amazing evening with an amazing guy not withstanding.

Last prompt. Non Sequitur.

He tried to hit me with a forklift!   Not really, but I feel like I’ve been at least run over and in the process he took half my heart.  (yes, I realize this prompt does not even closely resemble not being related because I made it relate, but honestly, who talks like that? What I mean is, no one ever says he tried to hit me with a forklift, when they are talking about being struck by something)  So now I’m hoping to either have kept a part of his heart, or at least if not that, he will give back mine at some point.  Right now, he gladly has my heart, not that he really knows, and hopefully while he’s still hiking up to Ashland, OR, it’s keeping him warm at night. (we are getting snow down to the 5K ft. line.  brr.)

And I’m breaking the above prompt because here’s one more paragraph.  Connections you make with people are funny sometimes.  You never know when you are going to just click with someone, and sometimes it just comes out of nowhere.  And you don’t know if you are both clicking or if it’s just one of you.  I like to think that we both clicked, but only time will tell.  Do you all care what way it goes?  Probably not, but that’s okay because this is my minor decompressing and also a chance to try relating three prompts.  I thought it kind of fun.

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

