Postage Notes

Postage Notes

I wish I could send you tiny letters
A postage stamp would fit the whole side
Your address only parts of laughter
Words small enough to need a telescope
I’d send them to carry around in a pocket
In your billfold clamped to a twenty
Something you’d find hiding
When you did your laundry
You’d pull it out and remember the words
Words too tiny to say out loud
Thoughts so small you’d need pages more
Words I’d keep hidden deep inside
Until my postage notes shared them

-Katie Lyn Branson

I wrote this for Mrs. Austen and S, a couple weeks ago.  My first thought was for Mrs. Austen, but then I thought about how important S is to me and he needs a copy as well.  So I copied it up for him with my fountain pen and send it off. Poetry is special to me, and I like sharing it with people that are important to me, even if they don’t get the juste of the poem.  Open poetry, free form poetry, is more abstract and not always understood.  So if friends don’t get it, that’s okay.  I just want them to know that it’s my way of telling them how important they are to me.

Signing off

~Kate

© Katie Lyn Branson and Kate’s Bookshelf, 2009-2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given toKatie Lyn Branson and Kate’s Bookshelf with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

