The Best Storytellers

I have been thinking about the best people to tell a story, and it doesn’t have to be a novel story, but just a really good bit of life, love and yeah, whatever.  I love good stories.  I love something that really makes me think and wish I was a part of that story.  Well, recently I have come to the conclusion that singers and songwriters are the best storytellers.  They have three to five minutes, with rhyming stanzas that have to tell this concise story.

Think about some great songs out there that tell a story?  The first one that comes to my head is “The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia”  or ……. Okay, well my mind is blanking, but besides the epic actual story songs, most songs have a story in them.

Let me share some lyrics of two songs that I have been playing on repeat practically. Please don’t harass me because one is a Maroon 5 song.

The Man Who Never Lied” ~Maroon 5

Sometimes honesty is the worst policy
Happy ever after, happy ever after
Let it go, oh oh, you never need to know, oh oh
I don’t wanna be picking up all of these tiny little pieces, tiny little pieces
Of your heart. Won’t do it anymore.

I was the man who never lied
Never lied until today
But I just couldn’t break your heart
Like you did mine yesterday”

Now those are pretty profound.  You see this guy who doesn’t want to lie to the girl and give her this happy ending that isn’t true.  Well, that’s how I see it. Others might see it different.

And the next

“Babel” ~ Mumford & Sons

“Press my nose up, to the glass around your heart
I should’ve known I was weaker from the start,
You’ll build your walls and I will play my bloody part
To tear, tear them down,
Well I’m gonna tear, tear them down”

The lyrical quality of these words, and yes I know, they are lyrics,….. but the thought of a guy tearing down the walls of a woman’s heart is kind of magical.  And the words, the story itself is so concisely unique.

I am a big fan of music and the story some songs tell. Yes, just about every song I really love has to do with love and romance, but sometimes the uniqueness of the song and the story it tells in the simplest words are what get to me.  The Script is a band that I find is really good at telling a story in their songs.  Mumford & Sons, One Republic, Maroon 5, those modern bands tell great stories.  John Denver, Glen Campbell, Neil Diamond are some great classic type storytellers.

What say you?  Do you think that singer./songwriters are some of the best storytellers?

That being said, don’t diss my books.  I just always return to music.

Signing off

~Kate

4 thoughts on “The Best Storytellers

    • Oh they do, they do. I could write pages and pages about how brilliant Mumford and Sons’ songs are. They hit so deep in so many ways. I love hearing about other people that love their music. I know I am not alone in loving them, but I always feel like I need to tell people to listen to them. 🙂

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

