The Woman’s Study Bible, NIV – Review

The Woman’s Study Bible is a very informative, easy to read, and encouraging Bible. Written as the NIV version, the text is easy to understand compared to other versions of the Bible.  One of the unique features of this Bible are the many areas of reference regarding our daily struggles.  From the mundane of shopping to the personal of a woman’s cycle and growing up, there are sections all throughout that talk about a particular subject then direct you to areas that are applicable.  Charts showing important women of the Bible, along with some you may not have known about as much.  There are quotes regarding spiritual life, and also character portraits.  The beginning of each book has a bit of history and the time period it was written, and by whom. This is definitely a Bible geared specifically and only for women.  There are even parts on the foods and herbs eaten in Bible times.  Clear and concise without a lot of extra dogma. There are lots of little places to get lost reading.

I was quite excited to try this Bible from Thomas Nelson books since I had missed the opportunity to request the Bride’s Bible.  I have this penchant for collecting Bible’s it seems, having about 10 in my collection, so one that was specific for women appealed to me.  I really enjoy this Bible, though I can’t say as I am one to read it all that often, but I’ve never been one to read my Bible all that often either.  Usually I prefer the New American Standard Bible, but this one is very easy to read.

I didn’t like the fact that the references and footnotes were more opinion than directing me to corresponding verses, like I’m used to, however, I still found it nice.  My other complaint would be the color of the cover.  Clay tan/brown would not have been my choice at all for a woman’s Bible.  Why not a pretty purple, lavender, pink, rose, coral, or even the color of the rose on the dust jacket?  The dust jacket was quite nice, but I had to take it off because it squeaked.  But honestly, the color was most annoying to me.  While inside all the highlighted areas are in this pale tan color, the cover is not appealing in the least.

That aside, I really enjoy this Bible.  There are a few areas I disagree with where the publisher put too much of their own specific views, usually in regards to birth control, marriage, children, and such, but on the whole, a very nice Bible.  I had considered possibly using it as a gift in the future for a friend or someone I thought might like it, as I have 10 Bibles, but I like it too much and it will have a place with my other treasured Bible from my uncle who passed away before I was even born.

I recommend this to anyone searching for a nice Bible to give to a woman, girl, or possibly even a  bride, though it is expensive.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

