Rainy Nights In The Springtime

Here I am on a rainy spring night.  Yes, it is really finally spring.  Bing is confirming it. (I had to check)  It’s one in the morning and I just had to type something.  I should be picking a picture for Wordless Wednesday, but you are going to get two posts today.

There is something kind of magical about rain on a spring night.  The freshness.  The clean mountain air where I live.  The silence that is far from silent.  The air moves differently and you can feel the change.

Right now I’m reading Liz Dalby’s East Wind Melts the Ice.  It’s a journal mixed with cultural and historical information of Japan.  It takes the Japanese calendar and breaks it down into individual weekly essays.  It’s incredibly fun to read, though I have yet to ever finish the book despite checking it out half a dozen times from the library.  It’s one of those books that’s so good you don’t want to finish it.  Ha ha, that is a really sad excuse, but it’s actually true. I’ve shied away from finishing it.

I am drinking a tepid cup of coffee, though it was hot a bit ago (black, no sugar) and I have Penny and Sparrow’s Ten Boom album playing.  Penny and Sparrow are a new band I found after seeing a post by rainydaysandblankets a Tumblr blog.  Her blog has got to be one of my most favorite to visit.  I really should do a favorites of Tumblr’s blog post.  There are some really great blogs out there.  Anyways, Penny and Sparrow is a really amazing band of two guys.  Check them out if you can.  Quite impressive in the folk-slash-rock genre.

Well, now to see what to post for Wordless.

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

