That Girl In The Red Cape

A fairy tale updated.

Red, Red Riding Hood, Valerie.  There are many incarnations of the classic fairy tale by the Charles Perrault, then later by the Brothers Grimm.  Erotic, funny, clean, not clean, classic, there are so many versions it’s hard to keep them straight.  Some have just a wolf, others a werewolf, and then in the case of ABC’s Once Upon A Time, the wolf is Red.  How that actually works, I have no idea.  Does she talk to herself?

And I digress.  The story of Red Riding Hood is a classic.  My father told it

The more traditional.

to me and my sister, complete with stuffed three headed doll to make the tale more real.  We have pictures when we were scared out of our wits when the Wolf came along.

And yet, despite the scary aspect of the story, I love it.  I have read many versions of the story, some just downright idiotic, while others, well, lets just say I don’t tell anyone I read them.  (everyone needs secrets) I’ve even seen a couple films regarding Red.  The more insane one being where she and her family are werewolf hunters.

My most recent foray into that world was watching the current film Red Riding Hood with Amanda Seyfreid.  It is a dark, sexy, and a bit pagan version of the tale. Various aspects of it reminded me of The 13th Warrior, which I could never fully watch due to the gross factor.  Then there was the Twilight-y aspect that was a bit ridiculous, especially casting Billy Burke as Valerie’s (Red) father.  I blame that all on the producer who was the same as Twilight.  But, all of that aside, I actually enjoyed the film.  I like fairy tales.  I like a more adult version of fairy tales.  (Heck, I like adult forms, but let’s not tell anyone that)  There is something kind of cool about reading, or watching something from your childhood get an update.

The sexier updated version. (Meghan Ory)

It’s why I still read various stories about Cinderella, Beauty and The Beast, Snow White, and other such things, with a more adult twist.  They are classic stories, and a lot can be done with them.

Perrault and The Grimms knew what they were doing.  They’ve kept us going on wanting the fairy tale.  Even though we are all grown up now.

On a side note, I suggest  anyone interested in the whole historical aspect of Little Red Riding Hood should go read the Wikipedia article on it HERE.  It’s quite informative about all the history and symbolization of the story.

Signing off

~Kate

One thought on “That Girl In The Red Cape

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

