Guys Want the Fairytale Too

Just this past day I have been listening to the audio version of Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Leviathan.  For those interested, this book is truly brilliant, and not just for teenagers.  Actually, I wouldn’t even recommend it to a teenager because it is clearly adult in nature.  There is no way someone who is 16 can think the way the characters are in this book.  However, it doesn’t really detract, the fact that they are only 16.  Sure, when I got started, I was hoping that it was more for my age, but I’ve enjoyed it so much, I can’t really complain.

I hope to write a review on it when I finish it, which shouldn’t be too long from now at the rate I’m listening to it.  I actually thought that I was almost done with it yesterday, until I realized I was only on track 2 of 6.  Yay, I’m not done yet!

Moving on, just this morning I heard a couple of lines from the book that just stopped me.  They also enthralled me.

You think romance is just for women.  Ha!  Not according to this quote and when you really look at it, I think you will agree with me.

“You think fairy tales are only for girls? Here’s a hint – ask yourself who wrote them. I assure you, it wasn’t just the women. It’s the great male fantasy – all it takes is one dance to know that she’s the one. All it takes is the sound of her song from the tower, or a look at her sleeping face. And right away you know – this is the girl in your head, sleeping or dancing or singing in front of you. Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtships. They want to know immediately.”
David Levithan (Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares)
 
Whoa!  Profound isn’t it?  Men always joke that women want the hero from romance novels.  Uh, well, yeah.  But don’t men?  I mean, don’t men want the women, so to speak from romances?  (and for you guys out there who want the guys, okay too. And vise versa, and now I’m off topic)
 
Anyways, think about it.  All the women in the really cool romance novels, and I’m speaking mostly of pre-modern ones as far as time period goes.  Think regency books.  If you haven’t read a regency era romance novel, you are missing a world of “Jane Austen-y-ness”.  I know, not a word, but that era of balls and dukes, parties and trips to Bath.  (I have a think for regency era novels, bear with me)  But the women in them are beautiful, though sometimes not drop dead gorgeous.  They are , ahem, virgins, most of the time…. And really if you ask a guy what he wants, does he really want a woman who has slept with a bunch of guys?  They really don’t want to know that. 
 
The hero always knows within a few pages that the girl is for him.  She may be a little slow on the uptake a lot of times, but it always turns out okay.  That first look. The dance.  The rescue.  It always happens that the first girl you  read about, and the first guy she runs into are destined to be together.  I can’t think of one story where the heroine doesn’t run into the hero within the first five pages.  Only more modern ones are like that.
 
So, that being said, clearly guys want a fairytale too. They just don’t want to admit they are such softies.  That’s okay.  Just so long as I know that they want that, I think it’s sweet.  I don’t feel so silly.
 
Now, if you are a guy and agree with me, please, I would love for you to post your thoughts and comments.
 
Ladies, as always, I love to hear your thoughts along this matter too. 
 
Signing off
~Kate
 

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

