Where Are The Classics?

Cover of "Bright Star"

Cover of Bright Star

I started watching Bright Star the other day.  About the life and romance of John Keats and Fanny Brawne.  Well, any ways, the film starts off with Fanny wanting to read Endymion, by Mr. Keats.  Of course, because I love anything literary-ish, and British to boot, I decided I needed to take a look at Endymion.

My library system doesn’t have a copy of Endymion.  At all.  Nor does it have much on Keats.  Actually, my library system is lacking in quite a few of the classics.  It’s missing certain Shakespeare plays…. Like Romeo and Juliet.  Um, am I missing something here?  Shouldn’t the library be the place to get these kinds of works?

So, I’m relegated to having to read Endymion online.  I hate reading things like this online. I like flipping through a book and pulling out passages I like.  I started reading Sir Walter Scott’s Lady of the Lake, in a book from the library. I loved the edition, but have yet to find it myself, or at least the specific edition. I do have a selected works of Scott, and a paperback copy of the Lady of the Lake, which is old.  Any ways, I like reading the book format.  Not online.

The thing is, my library system isn’t small. I mean, the library is the whole county.  Not just my town.  And the county has 50K people.  So it’s not impossible.  No, the library has to put dumb worthless books in the library.  It has to ‘weed’ out books on classical painters and such because they don’t get checked out much.  But it can’t seem to have decent copies of the classics.  Especially in the poetry section. 

Now I get that poetry isn’t terribly popular.  Only unique people read it.  Yes, I’m unique, but still, CLASSICS!  Come on, isn’t that one of the reasons for going to the library?  Not everyone wants to own a classic, but at some point just about every one has read one.

Well, I’m ranting, but this is just my opinion.  I guess I’ll just have to suffer through the online version.  Same goes for wanting to read The History of Tom Jones, a Foundling by Henry Fielding.  I think there is a copy in the system, but it requires more work than I care to put into it, to read it.  So again, online.  Which probably means I’ll never read it.

Signing off

~Kate

5 thoughts on “Where Are The Classics?

    • And see, I have this thing about ereaders…. I know, I’m being stubborn. Maybe if they drop a bit more in price. It’s nice the basic kindle is now down to $79….. Maybe at some point I will break down. But, it’s nice to know that someone else understands. 🙂

  1. I know, it’s lousy when the library system doesn’t carry a range of classics. The other options is eBay, but then you have to buy it, which isn’t nearly as good. I’m with Albert on this one because it’s instant gratification … for example you can download an eBook version of Endymion from Project Gutenberg (Kindle, ePub or other format) and get instant gratification. 🙂

    • George! How could you. Aren’t you supposed to side with me, dear editor? All you people and your ereaders….. I love holding the books in my hands. (However, I have a feeling you might be right….) I love Project Gutenberg…

  2. I encourage you to grab a copy of Keats’ poetry if you can – there is something special about having it in hard form and pouring over the words. I loved the movie Bright Star – so very beautiful and romantic!

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

