When To Hold, When To Fold

A pair of aces is arguably the best hand to be...

Image via Wikipedia

Ah, I couldn’t resist this topic from The Daily Post.  It seemed apropos that this week on Castle, Richard Castle and Javier Espisito had a little stint on “Know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em.  Know when to walk away, know when to run.”  Clearly, the guy didn’t know any of those things on Castle, because like always, he died.

Aerial photo: Santa Barbara, California

Have you noticed that on certain shows, someone is always dying?  For instance, I don’t think I ever want to go to New York City.  There is a murder each week on Castle!  I might die!  Same for Santa Barbara.  The gang from Psych is always dealing with murder.  Even last week’s episode of Psych, with the comic heroes ended up having a death. 

Those towns are dangerous!

However, I think it’s nice to have predictability.  Though I have to say, I don’t want to solve the murder in the first few minutes.  Let me be surprised.  Usually I can see how it was the murderer by the end, and I wonder why I didn’t get it before, but I like that mystery.  What is the point of watching a show if you can solve it all in the first fifteen minutes?  I do like always saying who it isn’t.  I’m fabulous for that.  I’m usually right on too.  Which you would think after ruling out all the ones that didn’t do it, I could solve who did….  I was spot on with Psych last week.  (I have not seen this week’s baseball one)

And though I like predictability, I like when shows mix it up. I  love that there is always something different on White Collar.  It’s always something new.  (has nothing to do with the fact that I love Tim DeKay….) 

And this doesn’t relate to anything but the title of this post, but I’ve been singing Kenny Roger’s “The Gambler” off and on all day and part of yesterday, and I’ll probably keep doing it.  Catchy song.  I’ve got Kenny on right now, and all of his music is pretty catchy.  I love ‘Lucille’ and “Ruby’.  I love catchy music.

So, this post, well it meets weekly requirements, but I’ll post something a little better this weekend hopefully.

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

