Where Was My Camera When I Needed It

So there I was in town last week, or was it on Tuesday….  Anyways, I had left my camera home, which is normal, as I’m forever forgetting to take it along with me, even though half the time I wish I had.  I was people watching, which is always fun, especially if you are not seriously people watching.  Kind of that vague sort of, you notice them, but don’t focus solely on them.

Well, a couple of situations came across that I wish I would have had my camera to capture the moment.

First off was a teacher, or teacher’s aide with a gaggle of girls.  The girls were all around five to six, with their backpacks, and bows in hair, and such.  I’d say about ten to fifteen little girls.  The thing that stuck out was all the pink.  If it wasn’t pink shoes, it was bows in hair, or pink shirts, shorts, necklaces, and about three or four pink backpacks of the same style and design.  Every girl had some sort of pink on.  Even the girls that were wearing blue or black or purple, had some pink on them.  It was so cute.  And they were laughing and giggling like all little girls do.  Asking each other how old they were, and just generally having a happy-go-lucky attitude.

The second situation was two older men sitting on the concrete planter box out in front of the post office. One was in his 60’s, the other in his 80’s.  They were having a friendly conversation and it was just so idyllic. It reminded me of the song “Old Friends” by Simon and Garfunkle.  “Old friends, old friends, sat on a park bench like bookends….”.  I wished I could have taken a picture.  I will use the image somewhere to write either some flash fiction or to put in a book. Not sure what.  Same with the little girls.

The last example was about three weeks ago, when I saw a husband and wife walking hand in hand, home from the grocery store, the husband holding the wicker basket full, and both of them chatting with each other.  The wife giggling and laughing at something her husband had said.  It was one of those moments you see in a commercial where it’s this adorable couple. 

I think couples at any age are adorable in certain settings.  And older couple in their 80’s taking a quiet stroll through the park is so cute.  I saw it once on a Debeers add.  Or a young couple that is happily spending time with each other.  It fascinates me.

So, there I was, wishing for my camera.  You would think I would remember it from time to time….

Signing off

~Kate

2 thoughts on “Where Was My Camera When I Needed It

  1. Probably one of my favorite inventions in the last 5 years or so is the idea of putting a camera on a cell phone. At first, I thought it was the stupidest combination I could imagine, but now I love having a way to snap a quick shot while I’m out and about. Who would have thought? 😉

    (However, I still prefer my full-size digital. 🙂 )

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

