The Little Things That Get To Me

I never have a camera with me at times when something strikes my fancy, or I can never capture how I see it, but I go throughout my day with little things that mean a world to me, even though I can’t explain them.

Let me explain.  Today I was looking down at a bouquet I made and I was struck by the beauty of the yellow pollen on the sunflower.  There was a serenity to it with the way the light was in the kitchen.  I pulled out the camera, but even though I took a picture (ok, I took about ten) it was impossible to capture the perfection of the moment.

Tumblr_loz1y0oanh1qbrkcao1_500_large

Little things that may not mean anything to anyone else strike me.  The orange poppies in the sun against an aging, moss-covered concrete wall.  A cloud that is perfect in its imperfection of mounds of creamy whiteness.  Canning jars in the sun making sun pickles.  A leaf on a body of water.  Ripples in the stream.  Bright green velvety moss. 

They are all amazing things.  Simple nothings that are beautiful. 

6120975609_470f097449_b_large

I’ve fallen in love with We Heart It because people post the most amazing things.  I was looking up Jane Austen the other day and a host of brilliant pictures came up in the search. I wanted to save every one of them.  I wanted to jump in and savor every one of them.  They all had such unique qualities to them. 

I looked up autumn and found many other things as well.  It doesn’t hurt that the site is pretty much all girl inspired.  Pearls, lace, pink…. It draws you in.

Il_570xn.267238263_large

I try to point out these things that ‘get’ to me to other  people, but I doubt they mean anything.  How does one go about explaining this subtle explosion inside just from seeing the way a certain flower looks at that moment?  I can’t.  And I’ve stopped trying.  I may point out something and say it’s cool, but that’s about it. I keep that building joy inside, trying to hold it in and remember it all.

 Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

