Look to the Stars

Galaxy Andromeda

Image via Wikipedia

I’m an amateur astronomy buff.  I have this thing about going out and staring up at the night sky and it can mesmerize me.  Right now is the best time to be seeing some of the most wonderful things out there.

I have a statement that I like to tell myself and it’s something like this.  My favorite constellation is Orion. My favorite thing to look at is the Pleiades, my favorite place to look is right into the heart of Sagittarius where the Galactic center is, and my favorite galaxy is Andromeda…..  For me, looking at the stars is like taking a small step into the wonder that is God.  Try sitting outside some night and staring at those incredible, amazing stars and try to fathom the greatness that is God. 

It is impossible to not feel humbled in such a situation.  The heart of the galaxy, the Milky Way is my idea of heaven.  So bright, so perfect.  It’s like this warm, fuzzy place.  Can I explain it?  Not even close. 

And has anyone ever looked at the Andromeda galaxy?  Can there be anything more perfect than a super bright galaxy floating on a diamond scattered black velvetness?  I can stare at it for ages and still feel my heart pound in breathless wonderment.

I don’t get to be out stargazing that often.  Mostly due to me liking to be in bed at night, but those times I do get out, I am amazed.  Two years ago I went out into my back yard for about three hours at night.  I was up till almost three in the morning. I was on a hunt for things I could see with my binoculars.  It was one of those warm nights where everything feels amazing.  And the sky was the most amazing I had ever seen it.  I cannot begin to expound on how clear, how perfect, how wonderful it all was.

Do I sound like I’m raving?  IT’s because I am.  God’s creation is a wonder to me, and every time I look at the night sky, I see it.

When Iconsider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers,  The moon and the stars, which You have ordained; What is man that You take thought of him,
And the son of man that You care for him?

Psalm 8:3-4

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

