Vintage Craze – Part 3: Cloche Hats

Louise Brooks in 1927 wearing a cloche hat

Image via Wikipedia

So, I’m going to continue on with my vintage passions.  I actually had forgotten I had started this series, so to speak, until I looked at my recent posts.  And I almost forgot that my post a week thing was going today.  Eeek!

So, I never have been a huge hat fan.  I like hats, especially ones from the 20’s to 50’s.  Even some from the 60’s were pretty cool.  But I don’t own any decent hats, and I can’t see as to where I would wear them.  It’s not Britain by any stretch of the imagination here.  I’m sure I would look pretty out of style if I wore one to town.  Heck, I get enough comments on wearing heeled shoes.

Me wearing the gorgeous Ferndale cloche hat.

Since the, I’ve fallen in love with cloche hats.  Cloche, for any of you non-French speaking people, (no, I don’t really speak it so much as read it) means bell.  And if you look at the way the hat is shaped, it looks like a bell.

 

They were only popular for a brief period of time, actual cloche hat styles, during the 20’s.  They went through to about ’33, but then lost popularity as other styles became the rage.  They have started making a comeback, and if you watch Hollywood, you will see some stars wearing them.  Though personally, I find that most of the hats are not as pretty  as the older styles.

 
 
 
 
 Hats are a very feminine thing.  They have been what made the woman’s outfit for ages.  Look at all the fuss in England with the Royal Wedding.  Hats were the focus.  Of course, most of those hats I wouldn’t be caught dead in.  Especially the Princesses Eugenie and Bea.  Gah! 

But, I would wear a cloche hat.  And at some point, I may get one for myself.  It fits with me wearing scarves and heels and all things girly.

Signing off

~Kate

One thought on “Vintage Craze – Part 3: Cloche Hats

  1. Greetings I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found you by error,
    while I was looking on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers
    for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

