The Luxery of Writing Science Fiction and Fantasy

So there I was, hanging laundry late yesterday afternoon.  Up in the sky was the moon.  And as laundry always leads to me daydreaming…. The thought I happened upon was how easy it must be to be a writer of science fiction and fantasy.

Why?

Well, as a writer of those genres, you don’t have to be accurate with any kind of facts.  How does this relate to the moon?  Well I’ll tell you.

Yeah, see, that's a bit in the large department

Have you ever watched a sci-fi show or movie where there is this planet with something like three moons, and those moons are not little blips in the sky like ours, but actually take up a fair amount of open space?  Or the ones where the people are on the moon and the whole planet takes up half the sky?  I’m sure you know what I mean.  You watch any Star Trek, Stargate, etc. show, and at some point or another, you are going to see this gigantic moon taking up half the sky.

It actually looks really cool. Very artistic in style.  I’m sure it’s a blast to write.

Did you know that scientifically that is not possible?  I posed the question of these giant moons to my astronomy club a while back.  I had a theory and I just wanted to check to make sure my theory was correct. 

I was.

Oh this one is even better

And then say you were living on a moon that was near a giant planet.  Okay, well see we actually have proof of that.  Anyone ever heard of Io?  You know, Jupiter’s moon?  It is in constant activity. Volcanos, earthquakes, and whatnot.  No, really, it does that.  The other moons of Jupiter aren’t much better.

Image of Io taken by the Galileo spacecraft

Io (Image via Wikipedia)

 

In all reality, this giant moon thing is impossible.  Do you know what the earth would look like with a moon the size of, hmm, I’m thinking……Okay, a moon that took up half the sky in size?  Trust me, these earthquakes and volcanos that we’ve had recently would be a piece of cake.

See, so that is why I say to be a sci-fi or fantasy writer is easy. Has to be.  You. Can. Make. It. All. Up.

You don’t have to have facts.  Gah, must be nice.  And I do apologize to every other writer out there who writes in those genres. I’m not totally criticizing you.  Because, you see, I’ve contemplated writing science fiction and fantasy.  I actually do have some things started in those genres.  And they are actually easier to write.  Go figure.

Well, there’s my rant for the day.

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

