James Taylor Is In The House

Fall is in the air. I turned James Taylor on this morning and you could say that Fall is synonymous with James Taylor. Or maybe it is the other way around. James Taylor is synonymous with Fall. I listen to James throughout the year, but there is something about his music that makes me think immediately of falling leaves, pumpkins, and dried grass. It’s possible it all started with his song “Walking Man”.

“The frost is on the pumpkins and the hay is in the barn…”

 Yes, that usually is what hits me. And it’s my favorite James Taylor song. I always gravitate to that song when I turn on his greatest hits album. And I think it says it all.

The mornings are crisp and cold, but the days are still warming up into the nineties. It’s not like Fall is here completely, but I can feel it. In one week it went from summer to hints of the coming winter. I smell dried grasses and hints of fires. The fires being from forest fires. And living in the mountains brings the touches of another season much earlier and more obvious to the mind. The winds come up in the afternoon bringing sweet smells that are vague in decaying matter.

The blackberries are ripening and they in themselves bring a smell that is unique to only them. Sweet and spicy. Hard squashes are hardening and getting ripe, or orange and such. There are onions drying around our farm and my rose is putting on its last show. Blooming small spicy blooms that are not as showy as they were this early summer.

There is nothing I would like to do more than to curl up on the couch on the front porch with a large pot of tea. Surround myself with books I’ve started. Which at this moment is about ten. I’m way over ambitious when it comes to finishing any book nowadays. I’d like to have the time to sit with a notebook and write poetry and work on some of my ‘books’. It’s that time of year when I start working on a Fall inspired story that was started five years ago. It seems like I can only work on it this time of year. I forget what the Fall is like when it’s spring and summer. So at this rate it will take me years to ever finish the thing. But I don’t mind as I am at home this time of year. This is my season. This is my time. I am never more comfortable than this time of year. I’ve claimed it as mine for years. And every year I revel in it and shout it out to anyone who will listen. I don’t care if I repeat it to people. And I don’t care if people view me as more of a spring person. Fall gives me the time to be introspective. I spend long moments in the sun thinking and evaluating. I soak up as much sun as I can and I dream. The simple things in life become important and I take the time to notice all that is around me.

Okay, maybe I try to do that on a regular basis but at this time of year, because I know it is fading and winter will be here, I try to take in as much as I can.

 I think more people should as well.

Signing off

~Kate

One thought on “James Taylor Is In The House

  1. Pingback: Starwood In Aspen | Kate's Bookshelf

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

