Books

BooksNew books smell…

Like glue and paper…

Starchy, pungent, spicy…

Like opening the door…

To a new day…

A world unvisited…

Fresh and untamed…

That’s what new books smell like.

 

Old books smell…

Like time passing…

Soft and mellow…

Like a warm home…

They are like coming home…

Familiar and loved…

The fabric of time

That’s what old books smell like.

 

 

I was in the library and this came to me

Books are like a friend…

Always there for comfort…

You trust them…

They are there for helping…

What would the world be like…

Without books?

 

I was in the library and the thought of books and the way they smell came to me.

Signing off

~K

Picture courtesy of 

https://katesbookshelf.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/old_books_stacked.jpg?w=224

 

 

© Katie Lyn Branson and Kate’s Bookshelf, 2009-2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given toKatie Lyn Branson and Kate’s Bookshelf with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

26 thoughts on “Books

    • I’m always smelling books as well, especially at used book stores. I read once that Steven King likes the smell of books as well, and it’s just always been my thing. Glad you think so as well.

  1. This poem speaks to everyone who has ever loved books as much as you do. I feel the same way about books. I love books new and old and I am always excited to begin a new book. Whether it was written and printed in 2009 or 1699 and if it’s alright with you, I’d like to put this poem on my site for those who read my blog. 🙂

    • Well thank you very much for your comments. You are quite welcome to put the poem on your site, though I do request you put my name, K. L. Branson, and the link to my blog so as people can come to mine as well.

      Thank you so much for your appreciation. I’ll have to keep an eye on your writings as well. I am terrible about writing about books I read, so yours is quite an effort in my mind.

      K

  2. I love opening a new book and just knowing that you are the first one to read it makes you want to read it and never stop until its done. With old books it makes them easier to read and more fun, and with libraries I love to just sit there and read and I love the smell of libraries for some reason. lol I’m the kind of person that gets a book and reads it over and over again and gets more interesting everytime.

    • I know exactly how you feel about libraries. One of my favorite things to do is go into a library in any town I am in. Not that I get that chance often, but there is something so magical about a place like that. And the smells are so perfect.

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. I love hearing from a fellow book lover and library lover. 🙂

    • Ah, yes, I feel the same way about books. Whether or not they know me is the true question. But I feel they do. I’ve loved them all to some point where my mark is slowly being made upon them.

      Thank you very much for your comment.

  3. Loved that poem… You made it? Its really cool 🙂
    Yeah I love how old books smell…
    loved the part where it says…
    Old books smell like time passing
    It really is true 🙂

    • I really did, and it surprised the heck out of me that people have loved this poem so much. I rarely look at or write free form poetry, so this is something in the really unique catagory.

      And thank you so much for understanding. I live for old books. Just the past few days I’ve been to my library’s spring book sale. And I’ve come home with way more old books than I have room for. The stacks are getting out of hand, but I can’t resist.

      Thank you so very much for your comments. 😀

  4. Love the poem.
    Totally true.
    I love walking in a library. So many books with all kinds of stories. Everytime I read one I wonder if anyone got touched by the book. If it made them change, what were their favourite parts?

    But I also love walking in a bookshop, with all those books, ready to be read. Trying to find that book that will keep me awake for days. Wondering why I can’t keep them all.

    • So glad you liked. Thank you. I love the age of old books and I wonder how many people have been touched by them as well.

      And well, you can’t compete with a bookstore. Those are truely magical places.

  5. Nothing like a real new book, but also understand the old books smell, especially those which are well loved and well read. E-books have there place but don’t really compare. Thanks for the lovely poem.

    • Well thank you so much for reading! I have my own personal vendetta against e-books, but I’m a real book fanatic. I love the smell of both new and old books. Though there are a few new ones that have a weird glue smell kind of like old socks. I’m not so hip on those.
      And there are the few old books that are too mildewy for my taste….

  6. I must admit that I love the smell of books too. It gives a character and an aura to the book so that when I smell the same scent I remember that particular book. Your poem was exactly how i think of their smell. It is sort of a fettish to inhale the pages of a book but what can I do? It’s irresistable 😀

    • Ooh, I like that term. Fetish. Yes, it is definitely something akin to that. I just have to smell books, and there are some, I don’t like the smell of, and I find it very hard to read them. Picture books from the late 70’s to mid 80’s had a very weird smell to me. And yes, some books have a specific smell I remember.

      Thank you so much for reading!

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

