Fall-Time Classics

woman_reading_romanticIt’s getting to be that time of year where I start to think about fall.  I know, it’s barely even August, but where I live; these mountain homes; autumn comes early.  We can have a freeze in three weeks. (and we just got out of one in June…..) And for some reason, this year autumn is making me think of the Classics. You know… classic books?  Jane Eyre (which I’ve not finished…), Jane Austen, Hemingway, and others.

This Classics thing is on my brain so much that I want to suggest to my librarian, whom I talk to regularly, that we need to have “The Autumn of Classics’ to get people reading them. Start pulling the classics from the scrunched in shelves, and making people sit up and take notice. Set them all around and have covers out.

It’s apple weather, it’s sweater weather…. It’s classics reading weather.

But that’s just me.

What time of year do you think the Classics fit in? See I was always a springtime early summer Jane Austen, but now… Do you read the classics at a particular time? Don’t they fit in with apples, tweed, fox hunts, plaid, straw, pumpkins and falling leaves?

Signing off

Kate

14 thoughts on “Fall-Time Classics

  1. I love the fall! It’s my favorite time of year. Favorite! As for the classics, I usually read them in the winter, cuddled up with a cup of cocoa and a blanket. If I had a fireplace, you can bet it’d be in front of a roaring fire. The classics are soothing, like old friends to me, so they’re good at any time of the year when I need an old friend to talk to. But they also fit in perfectly with the fall.

    • You know, I always put the classics in the winter as well. They fit with fire and something hot to drink… while snow falls softly on the ground…. Okay I’m thinking of snow because it’s still too darn hot and snow sounds lovely. I’m like you. LOVE the fall. My favorite too. Out comes James Taylor and my cranberry red lipstick. I love crunching acorns and wood smoke. Pumpkins and apples and dried corn. And I could go on and on and onnnnn. :)

  2. I think that classics can be read year round by fall and spring are really the best time. Unless you’re reading “Crime and Punishment” or “Moby Dick” which should be read in summer. Winter is also great for “Wuthering Heights” and “Sense and Sensibility”. Fall, I would read “Pride and Prejudice” and “The Hobbit”.

    • Oooh, I like how detailed about when to read certain classics. I never thought about P&P in the fall, but that is so perfect. Persuasion too. I picture Jane Eyre (though I said fall) to be more winter, because of the whole darkness within… But at the same time, early spring. So wonderful. And thank you so much for commenting! :)

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday | Kat Webber

    • Wow thank you so much for the suggestion. I have not gotten through a Hemingway yet, but I was really enjoying Farewell to Arms… Just didn’t finish it. I shall try ‘The Old Man and the Sea” soon. I think it would be nice for the last bit of summer. :)

  4. Totally agree. Fall gets me geared up for classics. I love to read them in the winter also … by the fire. But indeed, Jane Austen works well in the summer (anytime imho). After all, Charlotte Bronte compared Austen’s prose to a “highly-cultivated garden … with delicate flowers.” Summery for sure.

    • Oh yes, Austen is summery, I agree. And right now I’m trying Leaves of Grass because someone said that was perfect for fall, while another person said The Old Man and the Sea was great for late summer because it’s set in Cuba. So I might try that as well. And yes, winter is great for classics. For some reason it makes me think of leather-bound books, a steaming mug of mulled cider and the smell of pipe tobacco. You’d think I was a professor or something.

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

