Smoke Gets In My Eyes

Ah, the summer heat.  Hot days, warm nights. Humidity if you live where it’s humid. ( I sort of do just because we water so much the humidity is way higher in the back yard then if you walk to the street where it’s nice and dry.) And that first acrid burning scent of chlorine…..

Not from swimming pools.

No.

The chlorine smell is from the wildfires. I live in Northern California and it is pretty much a guarantee that at some point in the summer, there will be a wildfire, or forest fire, somewhere.  Anywhere. Oregon, California, Nevada, etc. One of the western states will at some point be burning.

The skies take on that hazy blue that is really more of a greyish hue and everything is dingy looking. LIke that feeling at the end of summer when everything is dry and tired.  But it could be the first week in July, or the early part of June.

Ours came this year mid June. So far, it hasn’t been too bad.  Yep, there was a fire somewhere.  Someone mentioned around Clear Lake, but I can’t quote that.

 It’s a common occurence for this area. I remember one year where the fires started in July, like on the 4th, and lasted clear through till the rains came…. In November.  And we are not talking just a little smoke.  Picture grey skies all day and by evening, as the sun sets, the world takes on this hazy pink hue that is somewhat eery.

And yet, it isn’t summer unless I smell a fire.  I kind of like it, even if it is a fire.  I know that the fires are crucial for the whole circle of life thing, so I respect them and think them needed in the forests where there is so much overgrowth that plants that used to be there, can no longer live.

I think I can be quite happy and pass at the thick smoke that comes from bad or close fires, but a fire is all part of the summer for me and living in the mountains.

Signing off

~Kate