Simply Grilling By Jennifer Chandler : A Review


 Simply Grilling by Jennifer Chandler relies on the premise of fast recipes for any type of grilling. Covering all types of flavors from mexican to asian inspired meals, the recipes are written in a concise manner. Colored pictures are included with each dish making the book visually appealing. Tips and how-tos are included at the bottom of each recipe and there is an entire section at the beginning to start you off on how to grill; whether indoors or on a charcoal grill; to get you started. Simply grilling is a nice start into the world of grilled foods.

While I found this book enjoyable to look at and tempting with so much variety, my first thought when i saw the title was inexpensive grilling.  Simply means also cheap and easy in my books.  inexpensive is not a word i would use to describe most of the recipes.  With ingredients like skirt steak, sushi-grade tuna loin, duck breasts, and a large selection of unique ingredients most people do not have in their pantry, this is not a book for anyone on a budget.  I actually found the title quite misleading.  One expects expensive dishes from cooks like Ina Garten (the Barefoot Contessa) and Giada De Laurentis and their books reflect that with the glossy pages and pictures for the upscale recipes.  The matte photos and pages in Simply Grilling lead one to think of good home cooking yet the recipes reflect the opposite.

For those looking for a fun book to look at or a gift for someone who grills a lot and wats a different take, this is a nice book.  Otherwise I would pass on it for anyone trying to make a go of it in this economy. 

 I received this book as part of Thomas Nelsons Booksneeze program in return for an honest review.

I finally got around to writing this review and while I could expound on the aspects of the book I didn’t like for pages and pages, I’m still going to hold onto this book possibly for future reference. Sometimes just enjoying looking at a cook book is enough.  While I may never make anything from it, it does have a nice look to it.  Heck, half the cookbooks I own I don’t make anything from. The only ones I have are few and far between. I’ve come to accept that I just like looking at cookbooks sometimes.

Signing off

~Kate